LibGuides UFV: Nursing: Health and Wellness

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:

Available in Library Collection..............	you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library
Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals .....	if you need journal articles only
Print Books........................................	limits mainly to our physical book, collection
Subject ...................................................	a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search
Geography...............................................	want to limit to Canada? use this
Limit by Database ................................	gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database)

There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q.

The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results.

Remember to use this toolbar to easily:

Email yourself the article

Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)

Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates.

By default, Find It searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: children television violence will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find It searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order. You can change the ranking to date if you wish.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example: "British Columbia" or "global warming".
Include the apostrophe. For example, use "handmaid's tale" rather than "handmaids tale"
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: delinquen* finds delinquent, delinquents, delinquency
To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the UFV library, refine your search by selecting "Catalogue only". You can also limit to "Print books" if you want something to hold!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)"
You can refine a search by limiting to Language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don't, use "Full Text Finder" to determine if UFV has the item in print or online.
To add in more Canadian content, explore the "Continue Search" on the right side of the screen.

System Requirements

In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - User Guide

Custom made UFV tutorials:

For more Library How To Videos

Tutorials from the service provider:

For More EDS tutorials

Selected Resources

Health and Wellness by Saddleback Educational Publishing
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2021
Eating a balanced diet and getting regular exercise are important parts of maintaining good health. However, there are many other aspects that often go overlooked when it comes to overall wellness. From having regular medical checkups to caring for your mental health, understaning how to better care for your mind, body, and spirit can help you live a happier, healthier life. Combining practical content with visual appeal, the Life Skills Handbooks read more like magazines than books. [From Publisher]
An Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada by Vasiliki Douglas
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020
This textbook for Canadian nursing and allied health students explores the major health issues of Indigenous populations and how to improve their overall health. [From Pulbisher]
Persuing Health and Wellness by Alexander Segall; Christopher J. Fries
Call Number: W 84 C3 S44 2011
Publication Date: 2011
In applying the sociological imagination, Pursuing Health and Wellness: Healthy Societies, Healthy People unravels these mysteries and, in an approach consistent with a shift in health sociology itself, goes beyond an examination of health as simply the absence of disease to explore the many factors that shape health and wellness. Authors Alexander Segall and Christopher Fries have constructed a three-pronged approach to this study. Part One of the text establishes the sociological foundations of the discipline and looks at health as a social construct. Part Two goes on to look at the social determinants of health and critically analyzes the structural and behavioural factors that influence it. Part Three examines the informal and formal components of the health-care system as well as models for measuring health, all the while considering personal, professional, and public responsibilities in the pursuit of health and wellness. [From Publisher]
Self-Care for New and Student Nurses by Dorrie Fontaine; Tim Cunningham; Natalie May
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2021
We welcome you on this journey, and we hope you welcome the opportunity to explore the concept of self-care, what it means, what works best for you, and how it can help you flourish in good times and help you grow in difficult ones. We are especially grateful, and humbled, that we can do it with you. [From Publisher]
Stories of Resilience in Nursing: Tales from the Frontline of Nursing by Michael Traynor
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019
This engaging book recounts direct and vivid stories told by or about nurses. These vignettes discuss nursing’s ideals without idealising them and show nursing work and the lives of nurses in all their complexity. They include contributions from mental health nurses, a former nurse, student nurses, a migrant nurse and a whistle-blowing nurse, among others. The book ends with chapter-by-chapter contextual material to promote reflection, discussion and further reading. [From Publisher]
Determinants of Indigenous Peoples' Health by Margo Greenwood (Editor); Sarah de Leeuw (Editor); Nicole Marie Lindsay (Editor)
Call Number: WX 11 C3 D48 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Now in its second edition, this collection explores how multiple health determinants, such as colonialism, gender, culture, early childhood development, the environment, geography, HIV/AIDS, medicine, and policy, impact the health status of Indigenous peoples in Canada. Grounded in expert voices of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis writers from coast to coast, this updated edition includes a chapter on environment and land defense; a foreword written by Dr. Evan Adams, Chief Medical Officer of the First Nations Health Authority; chapters by Liz Howard and Helen Knott, Indigenous poets; and an updated arrangement that reflects the significant social and political events that dominated headlines over the last two years, such as the protests at Standing Rock, North Dakota, the US national election of 2016, the Indigenous youth suicide epidemic, and the enquiry into murdered and missing Indigenous women and girls in Canada. This revolutionary book is appropriate for undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in courses on health, public and population health, community health sciences, medicine, nursing, and social work. [From Publisher]

Making a diversity difference : stories of leadership in creating a more inclusive nursing profession
The study findings supported the view that the profession of nursing, perhaps inadvertently, limited access to the profession by marginalized groups. This process was called professional closure, and occurred as a result of increasing entrance requirements, inconsistent language requirements, and segmenting minority groups in lower paid practical nurse and front line positions, with little opportunity for advancement. These findings about diversity and leadership, and about leadership for diversity, challenged the nursing profession to look beyond its day-to-day busyness, and to move beyond its current locked-down, controlled, risk-averse practices. The study findings challenged the profession to embrace the possibilities of increasing its diversity and inclusiveness, with the ultimate goal of building a better, stronger, more just profession and a better, stronger, more just society. The study has significant implications for theory, practice, research and policy in the profession. From a theoretical perspective, the study pointed to the need for the nursing profession to contemplate its social obligations with respect to promoting social justice in society. The study findings suggest that the profession might engage in national level policy discussions committed to increasing the diversity of the profession in order to reflect the community it serves. This study suggests the need for additional qualitative and quantitative studies on critical leadership to further develop the conceptualizations that evolved in this study. Policy discussions are implicated to address approaches to difference, inclusion, culture, cultural competence, cultural safety, affirmative action and inclusive policy in nursing, nursing education and health care institutions.[From Author]

Journey Across the Life Span: human development and health promotion by Elaine U. Polan; Daphne R. Taylor
Call Number: Just Received
Publication Date: 2023
This textbook is designed to assist students in their study of the life cycle from conception to old age. Instead of having to read only certain sections of a core text or portions of a pediatric or maternity text, students can now see the complete presentation of growth and development across the life span. We hope this will be meaningful and will assist students in developing an appreciation for individuals in their struggle to maintain, promote, and restore health. [From Publisher]

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Assorted Websites and Resources

This is just a sample of what can be found on the Internet. Try searching:

"health and wellness"

"health across the lifespan"

health aging

To avoid searching through endless unreliable websites, improve your google searches from the start.

Use these as part of your search:

site:.edu (to search only U.S. universities), e.g. "healthy eating" site:.edu

site:.ac.uk (to search only UK Universities), e.g "self-care" site:.ac.uk

site:.gov (to search the US gov website.)

site:.gc.ca OR site:.canada.ca (to search the Canadian gov website.)

site:.org (to search organizations)

Also include words like disseration, thesis, or pdf to bring up more reliable documents.

Try

"health and wellness" pdf site:.canada.ca

"healthy aging" pdf site:.gc.ca

Health and Wellness Planning: A Toolkit for BC First Nations
This Toolkit provides direct supports and wise practices — including regional stories, templates and checklists — to support First Nations at the community, Nation and regional levels, in addition to providing guidance on provincial partnership planning. However, this Toolkit is not meant to be prescriptive. Our hope is that there is something here for everyone: from those embarking on planning for the first time, to experienced planning teams looking to enhance their processes. The Toolkit is intended to provide support to your community or Nation where you are at. [From Publication]
Wellness from the First Nations Health Authority
The FNHA is a health and wellness partner to every First Nations person living in BC. Read First Nations wellness stories here. [From Website]

Videos

Strategies to Promote Well-Being
Strategies to promote the well-being of older adults are guided by the physical, psychological, and emotional condition of the individual. The development of an individualized plan includes evaluating the patient's current disease processes as well as injuries, medical complications, and ability to perform activities of daily living. [From Publisher]

Nursing

Need help? Ask us!

Need more help? Book an appointment with me

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Selected Resources

Evaluating Sources

Assorted Websites and Resources

Videos