LibGuides UFV: Nursing: Leadership

Nursing Leadership Toolbox

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:

Available in Library Collection..............	you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library
Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals .....	if you need journal articles only
Print Books........................................	limits mainly to our physical book, collection
Subject ...................................................	a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search
Geography...............................................	want to limit to Canada? use this
Limit by Database ................................	gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database)

There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q.

The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results.

Remember to use this toolbar to easily:

Email yourself the article

Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)

Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates.

By default, Find It searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: children television violence will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find It searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order. You can change the ranking to date if you wish.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example: "British Columbia" or "global warming".
Include the apostrophe. For example, use "handmaid's tale" rather than "handmaids tale"
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: delinquen* finds delinquent, delinquents, delinquency
To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the UFV library, refine your search by selecting "Catalogue only". You can also limit to "Print books" if you want something to hold!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)"
You can refine a search by limiting to Language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don't, use "Full Text Finder" to determine if UFV has the item in print or online.
To add in more Canadian content, explore the "Continue Search" on the right side of the screen.

System Requirements

In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - User Guide

Custom made UFV tutorials:

For more Library How To Videos

Tutorials from the service provider:

For More EDS tutorials

Selected Resources

Toxic Nursing, Second Edition: : Managing Bullying, Bad Attitudes, and Total Turmoil by Cheryl Dellasega
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020
Today's nurse managers--tasked with a wide array of responsibilities from staffing and budgeting to promoting safe and effective patient care--face unprecedented demands in their role as leaders of the largest healthcare workforce in the industry. They must be clinically competent, relationally savvy, and administratively gifted--and find the time to create and sustain a healthy work environment. In addition to those demands, the lopsided aging of the population has had a double impact: More nurses are retiring from the profession at the same time as elderly baby boomers require increasingly complex and costly care. As nursing workforce retirements increase, a continued push for effective leadership will be critical to healthcare outcomes in the coming decades. As workforce shortages continue, it will be critical to educate managers who can advocate for, support, and empower staff. [From Publisher]
Professional Nursing Concepts: Competencies for Quality Leadership by Anita Finkelman
Call Number: WY 100 F56 2019
Publication Date: 2017
An ideal text for teaching students how to transition from the classroom to practice, it focuses on the core competencies for health professionals as determined by the Institute of Medicine (IOM). [From Publisher]
Nursing Leadership During Crisis : Insights Guiding Leaders From the Covid-19 Pandemic by Carolyn Miller Reilly; Tim Porter-O'Grady; Barbara Kaplan
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022
In times of crisis, like the Covid-19 pandemic, nurse leaders must act immediately but also effectively. Previous disasters, emergencies, and healthcare concerns have taught us distinct lessons and forced managers to adapt—but how do you become a successful leader while battling an extreme crisis that brings fluctuating information every day? Nursing Leadership During Crisis guides nurse leaders from the Covid-19 pandemic to a mature perspective, integrating theoretical frameworks, ideals, processes, and reflections from those on the front lines. Drawing upon insights learned from the pandemic, authors Carolyn Miller Reilly, Barbara Kaplan, and Tim Porter-O'Grady provide tools for a lifelong journey of development and assimilation of attitudes, skills, and behaviors to help readers establish their own leadership persona and better prepare themselves for future crises. [From Publisher]
High Reliability Organizations: A Healthcare Handbook for Patient Safety & Quality, Second Edition by Cynthia Oster; Jane Braaten
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020
Nurses represent the majority of healthcare workers and are on the front lines of delivery and provision of safe and effective care. As a result, nurses are ideally situated to drive the mission to achieve high reliability in healthcare. We expect the primary audience of this text to be frontline nursing staff, nurses in administration, quality and patient safety professionals, advanced practice nurses, and nurse educators. [From Publisher]

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Assorted Websites and Resources

This is just a sample of what can be found on the Internet. Try searching:

"nursing leadership "

leader responsibilities nursing

"leadership qualities" nursing

To avoid searching through endless unreliable websites, improve your google searches from the start.

Use these as part of your search:

site:.edu (to search only U.S. universities), e.g. "nursing leadership" "change management" site:.edu

site:.ac.uk (to search only UK Universities), e.g nursing "employee motivation" site:.ac.uk

site:.gov (to search the US gov website.)

site:.gc.ca OR site:.canada.ca (to search the Canadian gov website.)

site:.org (to search organizations)

Also include words like disseration, thesis, or pdf to bring up more reliable documents.

Try

nursing "change management" pdf site:.canada.ca

leadership interpersonal skills healthcare pdf site:.gc.ca

Nursing Leadership from the CNA
Nursing is a practice discipline and it is a political act. Nursing leadership is about critical thinking, action and advocacy – and it happens in all roles and domains of nursing practice. Nursing leadership plays a pivotal role in the immediate lives of nurses and it has an impact on the entire health system and the Canadians it serves. Therefore, Canada’s health system requires a steady supply of visionary and energetic nursing leaders across the domains of the discipline who are credible, courageous, visible and inspiring to others and who have the authority and resources to support modern, innovative and professional nursing practice. [From Author]
The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health (2011)
Nursing represents the largest sector of the health professions, with more than 3 million registered nurses in the United States. The question presented to the committee that produced this report was: What roles can nursing assume to address the increasing demand for safe, high-quality, and effective health care services? In the near term, the new health care laws identify great challenges in the management of chronic conditions, primary care (including care coordination and transitional care), prevention and wellness, and the prevention of adverse events (such as hospital-acquired infections). The demand for better provision of mental health services, school health services, long-term care, and palliative care (including end-of-life care) is increasing as well. Whether improvements in all these areas of care will slow the rate of growth in health care expenditures remains to be seen; however, experts believe they will result in better health outcomes.
[From Preface]
Nursing Leadership from the BC Nurses Union
Leadership in nursing creates structure, implements processes and facilitates positive outcomes in nursing care. Solving complex nursing problems requires effective nurse leadership. For nurses, leadership is required in four domains: clinical practice, research, education and administration. [From Author]

Videos

Leadership in Nursing
95 videos talking about different aspects of leadership.

Nursing

Need help? Ask us!

Need more help? Book an appointment with me