"Community development is a process where community members are supported by agencies to identify and take collective action on issues which are important to them. Community development empowers community members and creates stronger and more connected communities." (Australian Institute of Family Studies, 2019)
"Community advocates are those individuals that have a vested interest in the development and redevelopment of a neighborhood or community. They are willing to participate in block clubs, neighborhood planning activities as well as religious and social activities." (Wooten, 2013)
Baldridge captures the stories of loss and resistance within this context of immense external political pressure, arguing powerfully for the damage caused when the same structural violence that Black youth experience in school, starts to occur in the places they go to escape it.
This cutting-edge text explores the intersection of CED and social work practice, which both focus on the well-being of indigent communities and the empowerment of individuals and the communities in which they live.
This book invites social work students, practitioners, policy makers and academics to re-examine the subject by exploring how homelessness and social work are constituted through intersecting and unequal power relations.
This textbook describes the essential interpersonal skills that social workers need in community practice and helps students cultivate them.
This book provides new and more established ways to approach community building and organizing, from collaborating with communities on assessment and issue selection to using the power of coalition building, media advocacy, and social media to enhance the effectiveness of such work.
Scholarly Journals contain academic articles, these are often reports on original research, theoretical, experimental or applied. Many are refereed/peer-reviewed.
Below are a list of databases for the topic of human resources management. Try all of them to see different results.
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Indexes over 900 social work and human services journals.
Simultaneous Users: 5 - 8 users.
Permitted Uses for this Database
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic.
Use research databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Databases can be accessed from off campus by current UFV students and employees.
Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:
Australian Institute of Family Studies. (2019). What is community development? https://aifs.gov.au/cfca/expert-panel-project/what-community-development
Wooten, R. (2013, July 23). Who are local community advocates and what role do they play in community development? https://www.canr.msu.edu/news/who_are_local_community_advocates_and_what_role_do_they_play_in_community_d
