"As a child and family social worker, you’ll have the opportunity to make a difference in your community by advocating for children and parents alike. These types of social workers are responsible for connecting families in need with essential services as well as monitoring the well-being of children and their families... Child and family social workers focus on assisting children and families, especially those with living situations that put the children at risk of neglect or abuse." (Social Work License Map, 2021)
Similarly, "School social workers help students, educators, families and others identify issues that are inhibiting student learning. They work with the school community and students to resolve social, emotional and behavioral problems so students can have a successful education. They may also act as a community liaison for the school." (Social Work License Map, n.d.)
This book charts the highs and lows of social work, the latter including the dominance of managerialism which emphasizes speedy completion of bureaucracy so as to ration resources and assess/manage risk.
This book sets out what the Reclaiming Social Work model is, how it was implemented, and how it works. It explains the RSW system of social work 'units' made up of clinicians and therapists and headed by a consultant social worker, and demonstrates how it has worked in practice.
This textbook provides a single source for all material necessary to providing a contextual child welfare course. As well as combining history, theory and practice, the authors integrate different practice perspectives to teach social workers how to engage children and families at the micro, mezzo and macro levels.
Strengths-Based Child Protection contains a rich combination of case studies, reflective questions, and exercises that enable students and practitioners to conceptualize and master implementing strengths-based practices with children.
Using case studies, reflective questions and checklists for practice, this hands-on guide will provide you with the knowledge and skills you need to effectively and confidently make a difference to the lives of children and young people.
Scholarly Journals contain academic articles, these are often reports on original research, theoretical, experimental or applied. Many are refereed/peer-reviewed.
Below are a list of databases for the topic of human resources management. Try all of them to see different results.
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Indexes over 900 social work and human services journals.
Simultaneous Users: 5 - 8 users.
Permitted Uses for this Database
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic.
Use research databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Databases can be accessed from off campus by current UFV students and employees.
Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:
Below are a list of Library Guides with resources that may be relevant to Child, Youth, and Family Social Work:
Social Work License Map. (2021, October). Become a child and family social worker. https://socialworklicensemap.com/social-work-careers/child-family-social-worker/
Social Work License Map. (n.d.). How to become a school social worker. https://socialworklicensemap.com/social-work-careers/school-social-worker/
