Diversity is a broad umbrella term describing "the fact, condition, or practice of including or involving people from a range of different social and ethnic backgrounds, and of different genders, sexual orientations, etc." (Diversity, n.d.)
Diversity encompasses a hugely varied range of factors that may impact individual experiences and, due to societal imbalances and discrimination, individuals within these groups may experience barriers not experienced by more privileged groups.
The term intersectionality is often heard alongside diversity and refers to "the interconnected nature of social categorizations such as race, class, and gender, regarded as creating overlapping and interdependent systems of discrimination or disadvantage" (Intersectionality, n.d.). In other words, intersectionality refers to the "intersection" or combination of two or more of these factors.
This collection of case studies that model LGBTQ+ affirmative social work practice offers real-life scenarios from a range of social work scholars, educators, and practitioners, representing diverse sexualities, genders, and intersectional identities.
Fully revised and updated throughout, this fourth edition of Lena Dominelli's influential book retains its reputation as the go-to text on anti-racist social work practice.
This book offers an update to this comprehensive guide to social work with foreign-born clients and an evaluation of various helping strategies and their methodological strengths and weaknesses.
This book will appeal to activists for social justice, social work practitioners, researchers, lecturers, students and those working in the field of Black feminist thinking.
This unique edited collection addresses issues impacting the well-being of LGBTQ individuals with diverse identities to help students, practitioners, educators, and policymakers work with sensitivity and strength in the LGBTQ communities.
This book provides access to important guidance regarding culturally sensitive social work practice, including the sociopolitical and social justice aspects of effective work in this field.
Scholarly Journals contain academic articles, these are often reports on original research, theoretical, experimental or applied. Many are refereed/peer-reviewed.
Below are a list of databases for the topic of human resources management. Try all of them to see different results.
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Indexes over 900 social work and human services journals.
Simultaneous Users: 5 - 8 users.
Permitted Uses for this Database
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic.
Use research databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Databases can be accessed from off campus by current UFV students and employees.
Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:
Diversity. (n.d.). Oxford English Dictionary. https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/56064
Intersectionality. (n.d.). Oxford English Dictionary. https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/429843
