LibGuides UFV: ENGL 233 / THEA 203, Performance History I (Anna Griffith): Japanese

Selected Resources

Kabuki for the West
This comprehensive introduction to kabuki is designed for teachers and students wanting to understand the history and practice of a traditional Japanese performance form. This insightful documentary includes versions of popular kabuki plays and explores the effects of applying Kabuki style, musicality and physicality to Western adaptations. [From Website]
Noh E-books from EBSCO

Beautiful Boys/Outlaw Bodies: devising Kabuki female-likeness
Call Number: E-book
Creating Kabuki Plays
Call Number: E-book
A Cultural History of Theatre by Christopher B. Balme (Editor, Series edited by); Tracy C. Davis (Editor, Series edited by)
Call Number: PN 2100 C85 2017 V.1 - V. 6
Japanese Plays : Classic Noh, Kyogen and Kabuki Works
Call Number: E-book
The Kabuki Theatre
Call Number: E-book

Selected Titles

Staging Japanese Theatre
Call Number: PN 2924 M58 1994
The No Plays of Japan
Call Number: PL 782 E5 W3 1998
Masterpieces of Kabuki: eighteen plays on stage
Call Number: PL 782 E5 M37 2004
The Ethos of Noh: actors and their art
Call Number: PN 2924.5 N6 R36 2004

Streaming Videos

Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of live theatre performances, stagecraft, lighting and interviews along with accompanying teaching materials. Permitted Uses for this Database
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
More than 250 plays and video documentaries online. Includes interviews with directors, designers, writers and actors. Can be searched or browsed by genre, artist, time period, place and more. Focus on the twentieth century.
Coverage: 1936 to 2005.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of over 20,000 titles in a variety of academic subject areas. Includes archival footage/newsreels on certain topics.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Search for Books, Articles and More

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Tip: Remember to take advantages of the limiter: Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) to limit primarily to journal articles.

Example Searches:

noh masks
kabuki gender
noh drama influences

Want only ebooks or other eresources? Remove the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed limiter) and use the suggestions below:

Art Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Art-related subjects, including art history, architecture, graphic arts, industrial design, motion pictures, photography, and sculpture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Over 2.5 million downloadable art images, including the following subject areas: Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, fashion, design. International focus. Please note: This database with be retired in August 2024 and content will be transitioned to JSTOR. For full access you may need to login to JSTOR and search for images there.
To download images, you must create personal JSTOR login. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to JSTOR is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to JSTOR. Downloading by institution is not available.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Cambridge University Press journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. International focus.
Coverage: 1998 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Writing tips

ASC Guide to Annotated Bibliographies
A guide from our Academic Success Centre to help you write your annotated bibliography.
ASC Article Review and Critique revised 2018
A guide from our Academic Success Centre to help you write your annotated bibliography
Academic Success Centre Student Resources
A variety of guides to help with understanding plagiarism, writing research papers, doing literature reviews and more.

Selected databases for primary sources

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Over 2.5 million downloadable art images, including the following subject areas: Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, fashion, design. International focus. Please note: This database with be retired in August 2024 and content will be transitioned to JSTOR. For full access you may need to login to JSTOR and search for images there.
To download images, you must create personal JSTOR login. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to JSTOR is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to JSTOR. Downloading by institution is not available.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Adam Matthew Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes historical primary source material: manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, drawings, paintings, letters, diaries, notebooks, and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A digital facsimile edition of virtually every book published in English between 1473 - 1700.

Permitted Uses for this Database
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Nearly 200 million pages of searchable primary source materials, including maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems. It is freely available to residents living in British Columbia. Contains 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Permitted Uses for this Database