LibGuides UFV: IDS 200, Ecologies of Hope / River Conversations: Relating with Language

Search the Library Catalogue

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Enter search terms in the box above to find books, e-books, DVDs and streaming videos on your topic.

Search the following topics (click on the link or copy and paste in to the search box above):

Coast Salish - Folklore	Halq'eméylem language
Stó:lō language -- Grammar	Coqualeetza Cultural Education Centre
Salish language	Indigenous languages in Canada
Indigenous elders and Canada

Research Databases

Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
Streaming video and audio content from CBC and Radio Canada. Documentaries, news, drama, teacher's guides and more are included. Use Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Instructors wishing to create playlists should contact the library for the access code required to set up a personal account.
Permitted Uses for this Database
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations related to literature, language, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and the dramatic arts.
Permitted Uses for this Database
National Film Board (NFB) Campus This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to hundreds of English and French language animated films and documentaries online in streaming video.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Weaving Knowledge Systems Resource Materials This link opens in a new window
A collection giving voice to the Indigenous Peoples of Turtle Island. Contains materials on Canada's Dark History, Decolonization and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Indigenous Languages of British Columbia

Our Living Languages: First Peoples' Voices in British Columbia
First Peoples' Maps: Languages
First Nations and Endangered Languages Program (UBC Vancouver)
The Aboriginal languages of First Nations people, Métis and Inuit (StatsCan)
Man Turned to Stone: T'xwelátse
The exhibition told the story of Stone T'xwelátse. It described how he was transformed to become a part of the Stó:lō cultural landscape and explored the history of colonization that led to his being lost for more than one hundred years. It also documented the cultural revival and complex process of repatriation that brought him home again. The Reach Gallery Museum Abbotsford in April 2011.
Stó:lō Shxwelí Halq’méylem Language Collection.
Find language resources and stories for learning Halq’méylem.
First Voices: Halq'eméylem Home Page
"Halkomelem is a language of the Salishan language family (Central Coast Salish Branch.) Halkomelem is spoken along the Fraser River and its tributaries from Sawmill Creek (also known as 5 Mile Creek) above Yale, British Columbia, downriver to Vancouver, British Columbia; it is also spoken on Vancouver Island from Malahat to Nanoose and along the Cowichan River, and by some members of the Nooksack tribe in the area of Everson and Deming, Washington (who speak Sumas, Matsqui and Chilliwack dialects). There are as many as (17) dialects of Halkomelem. They fall into three major groups: Upriver dialects (Halq'emeylem), Downriver dialects, and Island dialects."
First Voices
"FirstVoices is a suite of web-based tools and services designed to support Indigenous people engaged in language archiving, language teaching and culture revitalization"