LibGuides UFV: IDS 200, Ecologies of Hope / River Conversations: Relating with Stories and Song

Search the Library Catalogue

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Enter search terms in the box above to find books, e-books, DVDs and streaming videos on your topic.

Search the following topics (click on the link or copy and paste in to the search box above):

Coast Salish - Folklore	Tsimshian Folklore
Colonization in Literature	Indians of North America -- Canada -- Religion
Haida mythology	Inuit Folklore
Okanagan Folklore	Cree Folklore
Indian mythology--British Columbia.	Indian mythology -- Canada Stó:lō -- Folklore -- Juvenile literature
Indigenous song or music

Research Databases

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
Streaming video and audio content from CBC and Radio Canada. Documentaries, news, drama, teacher's guides and more are included. Use Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Instructors wishing to create playlists should contact the library for the access code required to set up a personal account.
Permitted Uses for this Database
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Information on all aspects of cultural and social life and ethnic groups of the world.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Humanities Source (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of scholarly sources in the Humanities, including history, philosophy, literature and religion.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Find the collection by clicking on Resources (top right corner). Varied collection of government documents, images, primary sources and more about Indigenous People in North America. From the seventeenth through the twenty-first century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) has full text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on Indigenous peoples of Canada. Includes geographic locations of various communities and links to research content of that specific community.
Permitted Uses for this Database
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations related to literature, language, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and the dramatic arts.
Permitted Uses for this Database
National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to hundreds of English and French language animated films and documentaries online in streaming video.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Weaving Knowledge Systems Resource Materials This link opens in a new window
A collection giving voice to the Indigenous Peoples of Turtle Island. Contains materials on Canada's Dark History, Decolonization and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

The People and the Text: Indigenous Writing to 1992

The People and the Text: Indigenous Writing in Northern North America to 1992 is collecting and studying one of the most neglected literary archives in English Canada, an archive neglected because settlers used literature to consolidate a narrative of Canada starring the British-descended resulting in university curricula that featured the British canon. Browse the collection, listen to interviews, learn about featured authors, and discover resources.

RavenSpace: Digital Multimedia Publications

A unique publication model of Indigenous Knowledge presented through text and video. Created and made with respect to Indigenous protocols by UBC Press, University of Washington and other partners.

RavenSpace Publishing

Non-Fiction written by Indigenous Peoples

Price Paid: the fight for First Nations survival by Bev Sellars
Call Number: E 78 C2 S3956 2016
Dancing on Our Turtle's Back: stories of Nishnaabeg re-creation, resurgence and a new emergence by Leanne Simpson
Call Number: E 92 S56 2011
When the other is me : Native resistance discourse, 1850-1990 by Emma LaRocque
Call Number: E 78 C2 L367 2010

More by Emma LaRocque

Crisp blue edges : indigenous creative non-fiction by Rasunah Marsden
Call Number: PS 8235 I6 C75 2000
Indigenizing the academy : transforming scholarship and empowering communities by Devon Abbott Mihesuah
Call Number: E 97 I644 2004

Indigenizing the Academy
For more relevant publications on the topic of Indigenizing the Academy.

The Inuit Thought of It by Alootook Ipellie
Call Number: E 99 E7 I69 2007
A Fatherly Eye: Indian agents, government power, and Aboriginal resistance in Ontario, 1918-1939 by Robin Brownlie
Call Number: E 78 O5 B76 2003
Learn, Teach, Challenge : Approaching Indigenous Literatures
Call Number: PS 8089.5 I64 L42 2016
Why Indigenous Literatures Matter by Daniel Heath Justice
Call Number: PS 153 I52 J878 2018
Peace, Power, Righteousness by Taiaiake Alfred
Call Number: E 98 T77 A43 2009
Principles of Tsawalk: an indigenous approach to global crisis by Umeek / E. Richard Atleo
Call Number: E 99 N85 A83 2012
Taking Back Our Spirits: Indigenous literature, public policy, and healing by Jo-Ann Episkenew
Call Number: PS 8089.5 I64 E65 2009
Medicine Shows: indigenous performance culture by Yvette Nolan
Call Number: PS 8089.5 I64 N65 2015
Indigenous storywork : educating the heart, mind, body, and spirit by Jo-Ann Archibald (Q'um Q'um Xiiem)
Call Number: E 78 B9 A73 2008

More by Jo-Ann Archibald

Indians in unexpected places by Philip J. Deloria
Call Number: E 98 S67 D46 2004
Red earth, white lies : Native Americans and the myth of scientific fact by Vine Deloria
Call Number: E 98 F6 D35 1997

More by Vine Deloria

Elements of Indigenous style : a guide for writing by and about Indigenous peoples by Younging, Gregory
Call Number: PN 147 Y68 2018 & E-book
Finding a Way to the Heart : feminist writings on Aboriginal and women's history in Canada
Call Number: E 76.8 F56 2012
The Inconvenient Indian: a curious account of Native People in North America by Thomas King
Call Number: E 77 K566 2012 & E-book
Indigenous Writes: a guide to First Nations, Métis & Inuit issues in Canada by Chelsea Vowel
Call Number: E 78 C2 V69 2016 & E-book
Subscription
Looking at the words of our people : first nations analysis of literature by Jeannette C Armstrong
Call Number: PS 8089.5 I64 L66 1993
Me Artsy by Drew Hayden Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: N 6549.5 A54 M42 2015
A Mind Spread out on the Ground by Alicia Elliott
Call Number: E 78 C2 E555 2019
Reasoning Together: the native critics collective by Janice Acoose; Craig S. Womack; Kimberly Roppolo; Phillip Carroll Morgan; Cheryl Suzack; Sean Teuton; Robert Warrior; Christopher B. Teuton; LeAnne Howe; Wieser G. Roppolo; Kimberly G. Wieser; Lisa Brooks; Tol Foster; Daniel Heath Justice
Call Number: PS 153 I52 R33 2008
Red on Red: Native American literary separatism by Craig S. Womack
Call Number: PS 153 I52 W66 1999
Response, responsiblity, and renewal : Canada's truth and reconciliation journey by Gregory Younging, Jonathan Dewar, & Mike DeGagné
Call Number: E-book
Shaking the Rattle: healing the trauma of colonization by Barbara-Helen Hill
Call Number: E 98 R3 H55 1995
Survivance by Gerald Vizenor (Editor)
Call Number: E 98 S67 S87 2008
Uqalurait: An Oral History of Nunavut
Call Number: E 99 E7 B474 2004
Salmon Nation: people and fish at the edge by Essays by Elizabeth Woody ... [et al.]
Call Number: QL 638 S2 S234 1999
The Winona Laduke Reader: a collection of essential writings by Winona LaDuke
Call Number: E 99 C6 L255 2002
Bawaajimo : a dialect of dreams in Anishinaabe language and literature by Margaret Noodin
Call Number: E-book

Video Titles

River of Life
This documentary focuses on the Yukon River Quest, the world's longest annual canoe and kayak race. Athletes come from around the world to test their endurance, racing day and night along 740 km of rugged river shoreline. The film chronicles the experiences of the all-female 2006 Paddlers Abreast team. By following them from the moment they climb into their boat in Whitehorse to the cheers that greet them in Dawson City, the film tells an exhilarating story of a group of women who have faced death and understand how precious life is.
Breaths
The North is the place where I feel I'm completely myself.” In this evocative short, Inuit singer-songwriter and humanitarian Susan Aglukark weaves together stories of artistry, family, and belonging as she explores the complex cultural shifts of the last 50 years of Inuit life. Turning her lens on the turbulence of colonial transition, director Nyla Innuksuk examines the forces that shaped Aglukark's voice and how that voice is now being translated for a new generation of Inuit artists.
Stories from Our Land - Inngiruti: The Thing that Sings!
In Pangnirtung, two elders reminisce about the dances held in their community 50 years ago. One of the elders is master accordion player Simeonie Keenainak, and pretty soon he is making toe-tapping music with his instrument. In this celebration of the pleasures of music and dance, Keenainak plays for the enjoyment of friends, family and the community at large.
Evan's Drum
An adventurous young boy and his determined mother share a passion for Inuit drum dancing in Happy Valley-Goose Bay. Evan’s Drum is a joyful visit to a family’s loving home, and an uplifting story of cultural pride. After generations of silence, the rhythm of the traditional Inuit drum has returned to Labrador, and seven-year-old Evan is part of the new generation that will keep its heartbeat strong.
Th'owxeya, the Cannibal Woman
Gwen Point tells the Story of Th'owxeya, the Cannibal Woman. This story was told to Sq'éwlets youth and family members at the Sq'éwlets Band Hall during an elder and youth workshop in August 2014 that guided the production of content for this website. [From Website]
The Man and the Giant: An Eskimo Legend
A hunter is pursued, bound up and carried to a cave in this legend of a river and of how fog came to the land. The story is enacted by Inuit using katadjak or throatsinging. The audience is locked in an alien world of sights and sounds where human activity seems propulsed by primeval forces.

IDS 200, Ecologies of Hope / River Conversations

A Word About Subject Headings

Need help? Ask us!