LibGuides UFV: BUS 120, Essentials of Marketing: Industry Analyses

Industry Classification

NAICS 2017 version 2.0
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is a standard way of classifying and identifying industry. Industry codes can be used in almost every business database.
NAICS Code Search
Find NAICS codes using a keyword search.

Canadian Business Patterns
Canadian Business Patterns (from Statistics Canada) presents the count of establishments by number of employees, for various geographic levels including province, Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) and CD (Census Division). Type of business is available to the 6 digit NAICS code level. Canadian Business Patterns can be found in the ODESI database and from the DLI. To view the data from ODESI, you need to download the free Beyond 20/20 software.

Understand the industry context in which your company operates.

Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Marketline Reports (Company Profiles): Long reports (company overview, history, key employees, major products/services, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, top competitors)
Industry Profiles: Profiles identify market size, competitive landscape and provide forecasts of market performance.
Market Research Reports: Market insight and emerging trends, by industry.,

Research and Business Intelligence (Government of Canada)
Enormous website links to many sources of industry information; best for companies operating or based in Canada

Search these databases for information on marketing, products, current issues, strategic directions, and more.

Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
Demographic, economic and marketing statistics for over 200 countries. Information includes market performance, market size, company and brand shares and profiles of leading companies and brands.
Coverage: 1997 to present, including forecasts.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies provides access to full text of over 21 Canadian newspapers, including the Vancouver Sun and Globe & Mail. 2-day embargo on selected titles.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Regional Business News (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
More than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Permitted Uses for this Database