LibGuides UFV: BUS 120, Essentials of Marketing: Marketing Information

Population Profiles

For information and statistics that will help you analyse your potential customer base.

B.C. Community Profiles: Immigration and Diversity
Census of Population
A detailed statistical portrait of Canada and its people by their demographic, social and economic characteristics.

Consumer Trends
From the Office of Consumer Affairs (OCA), Government of Canada. Provides a general overview of past and current economic and marketplace trends of relevance to consumers, and points to research gaps for future work by the consumer affairs community
Household Expenditures Research Paper Series
From Statistics Canada. Information about household spending
For Consumers: Office of Consumer Affairs (OCA)
Lists of product & food recalls; alerts on the latest consumer scams and frauds, tips on how to protect yourself in various consumer situations such as shopping on-line, investing, dealing with telemarketers or door-to-door sales people, renovation contractors, car repairs and much more

Conducting Market Research
How to design a market research campaign to help improve your business decisions.
Market Research World
A not for profit organization that provides online resources for students of market research
Marketing News Canada

Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
Demographic, economic and marketing statistics for over 200 countries. Information includes market performance, market size, company and brand shares and profiles of leading companies and brands.
Coverage: 1997 to present, including forecasts.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Vividata This link opens in a new window
Detailed data from annual survey of more than 40,000 Canadian consumers' opinions, demographics, and activities, as well as their product, service, and media purchases.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Food and Consumer Products of Canada
Includes "State of the Industry Report" on consumer packaged goods
Retail Council of Canada
Includes industry research reports
Retail Trade
A partnership between the Retail Council of Canada and Industry Canada, this site has practical, hands-on business information, resources and tools targeted to Canada's independent and small chain retailers