Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection: Support the Newman Collection

A Special Collection of culinary titles from the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia as well as the Yukon and Northwest Territories.

Good Food Tells a Story

The Library created a cookbook of the favourite recipes gathered from the UFV faculty and staff
as a fundraiser for the Newman Collection.  In it you will find recipes and stories as diverse as the staff and faculty who submitted them.  From baked salmon tails,  to  Wareneki, to Rabbit, Madrid Artist-Style or Figgy Duff and Nanaimo Bars, there is something for everyone.  
Partial proceeds from the sale of Good Food Tells a Story will go towards building the Newman Collection.

Click here to order a copy online.

 

 

Celebrating the Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection - September 24th

On September 24th, 2015, the UFV and broader community gathered together for a celebration of UFV Library's new Special Collection - the Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection.  We unveiled our new UFV Cookbook of favourite recipes, Good Food Tells a Story, as well as celebrating the MSA Museum's publication of Abbotsford: from Village to City.

Click here for images from that wonderful evening.

 

Giving to the Library

Information on how to give to the UFV Library
is available here

The library accepts both in-kind donations to the library's Special Collections, and cash donations in general.

To learn more about giving to UFV, click here.

 

Help Us Preserve Our Heritage

If you have old Western Canadian cookbooks, or your grandmother's handwritten recipe book, please consider donating them to the University of the Fraser Valley's Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection. Old Menus, brochures, and recipes are invaluable for scholars and culinary professionals. We will preserve them and make them available to future researchers.

© University of the Fraser Valley,
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8