LibGuides UFV: Criminal Justice: Legal Information

Court House Libraries

Court House Libraries provide a good resource for conducting legal research, including access to subscription databases such as Quicklaw.

Irwin Law's Canadian Online Legal Dictionary
Collaborative online legal dictionary maintained by Irwin Law.

For more information on Legal Resources, see the Canadian Law Libguide.

For information on how to cite legal materials, see the Legal Citation Libguide.

Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new window
Canadian court cases, legislation, legal commentary, encyclopedias and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

BC Provincial Court
This court is the first level of court in British Columbia. The Court's jurisdiction includes criminal, family, child protection, small claims, and traffic cases. Judgements are available from 1999 onwards.
The Courts of British Columbia
Search judgments from the BC Court of Appeal and Supreme Court.

CanLII This link opens in a new window
CanLII provides open access to Canadian statutes and case law from federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions. Dating from 2000 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Supreme Court of Canada Cases
Searchable database of SCC cases.
Supreme Court of Canada (Lexum site)
All Supreme Court of Canada decisions since January 1985
Slaw Selected Case Comments
From Slaw.ca, Canada’s online legal magazine.

BC Laws
Statutes, Regulations for British Columbia
Clicklaw
Features legal information and educational resources aimed at the public presented by the courthouse libraries of BC
Legal Aid BC
The Legal Services Society provides a range of legal information, advice, and representation services that help people resolve their legal problems. These services include booklets about the law and referrals to other agencies, or a lawyer to represent someone in court.
Legislative Assembly of B.C.
Hansard (Debates of the Legislative Assembly), Bills, Votes and Proceedings

Canadian Judicial Council
A beginner's guide to the Judicial System, containing links to various government agencies
Debates of the House of Commons (Hansard)
Transcript of what has been said in the House of Commons.
Justice Laws Website
Links to Canada Gazette, Consolidated Statutes of Canada, Consolidated Regulations of Canada, Criminal Code, Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, etc.
Legal Topics for Canadian Criminal Investigators (Henry Waldock)
Up to date information and interpretations of Canadian criminal law and recent cases.
LEGISINFO
"is an essential research tool for finding information on legislation currently before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about individual bills..."
Youth Criminal Justice Act
Youth Criminal Justice Act Summary and Background
Summary, background information, and more

USA.gov: Laws and Regulations
Directory of useful sites related to U.S. legal information, including Supreme Court decisions.
Congress - Current Legislative Activities US

Canadian Legal Research and Writing Guide
Extensive research guide covering research essentials, statutory research, case law and legal writing and analysis.
Case Law Research Guide (UBC)
Comprehensive list of links to legal databases, federal and provincial courts, administrative boards and tribunals.
GlobaLex: Researching Canadian Law (Ted Tjaden)
Overview of the Canadian legal system with selected links and relevant resources listed.

Canadian Civil Liberties Association
"CCLA is a national civil liberties organization that was constituted to promote respect for and observance of fundamental human rights and civil liberties in Canada. "
BC Civil Liberties Association
Advocacy work and education in human rights and civil liberties.
Canadian Council for Refugees
"...a national non-profit umbrella organization committed to the rights and protection of refugees and other vulnerable migrants in Canada and around the world and to the settlement of refugees and immigrants in Canada."
Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers
"CARL serves as an informed national voice on refugee law and human rights, and promotes just and consistent practices in the treatment of refugees in Canada."
Canadian Bar Association
"...we promote fair justice systems, facilitate effective law reform, uphold equality in the legal profession and are devoted to eliminating discrimination."