LibGuides UFV: Finance: Economics

Economics

Scope

Economics is the study of the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services.

This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information on these subjects. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, news, articles, data and more.

We also recommend checking out the Economic Indicators guide for more resources.

Selected Books

Principles of Economics

The first text to bring together the theories of supply and demand, marginal utility, and cost of production into a coherent whole.

Everyday Economics: A User's Guide to the Modern Economy

This book eschews this conventional perspective, which sees national economies as simply agglomerations of the activities of millions of people, and instead explores the role played by the individual in the economy, in particular, how the individual experiences the economy.

Economics: The User's Guide

This book is a concise and expertly crafted guide to economic theories, and will give all who read it a clear and accurate picture of the global economy and how and why it affects our daily lives.

Macroeconomics: A Critical Companion

A clear and concise exposition of mainstream macroeconomics from a heterodox perspective.

Microeconomic Theory

The aim of this book is to provide a comprehensive analysis of microeconomic theory with a clear goal of keeping the students exposed to the new topics that have come to play a crucial role in microeconomics in recent years.

Recommended Databases

Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Ideas: Economics and Finance Research This link opens in a new window
This economics database provides access to bibliographic information, abstracts and some full text from an international selection of journals, working papers, institutional documents and software.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics relating to Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
Datasets on key indicators and statistics on 228 countries of the world.
Permitted Uses for this Database

IMF World Economic Outlook
Reports from the International Monetary Fund. The IMF also provide excel datasets in the World Economic Outlook Database.

CANSIM This link opens in a new window
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's database of time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Hundreds of surveys are included, in addition to the Census, and results are published in thousands of tables.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Associations and Organizations

Canadian Economics Association
The Association has for its object the advancement of economic knowledge through the encouragement of study and research, the issuing of publications, and the furtherance of free and informed discussion of economic questions. The Association as such will not assume a partisan position upon any question of practical politics nor commit its members to any position thereupon.
American Economic Association
Once composed primarily of college and university professors in economics, the American Economic Association (AEA) now attracts 20,000+ members from academe, business, government, and consulting groups within diverse disciplines from multi-cultural backgrounds. All are professionals or graduate-level students dedicated to economics research and teaching.
OECD Online (Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all. We draw on 60 years of experience and insights to better prepare the world of tomorrow.
World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.

Selected Journals

Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic. The following journals contain information related to economics.

Or search for more Journals by subject:

Finance

Need help? Ask us!

Your Librarian