LibGuides UFV: Finance: Investments &amp; Securities

Investments & Securities

Scope

Investments & Securities refers to the allocation of money with the expectation of a positive benefit/return in the future. For example, stocks, bonds, shares, exchange-traded funds, real estate etc.

This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information on these subjects. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, news, articles, data and more.

Selected Books

The Investment Handbook

The Investors Handbook is a comprehensive directory of venture capital firms, start-up investors and angel networks.

Securities Operations : A Guide to Trade and Position Management

The only comprehensive account of operational risk in securities settlements, the book focuses on the settlement aspects of a securities transaction.

Risk Management

The subject of the book is company-wide risk management based on the Value at Risk concept. This includes quantitative and qualitative risk measurement, risk analysis based on the RoRaC and various management tools for risk control.

Quantitative Financial Economics: Stocks, Bonds and Foreign Exchange

Provides a comprehensive introduction to models of economic behaviour in financial markets, focusing on analysis in discrete time.

The Little Book of Investing Like the Pros: Five Steps for Picking Stocks

Written by two practitioners with a combined banking experience of over 15 years, this text is intended to provide a practical, hands-on approach to investing.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Includes company profiles and histories, market research reports, industry profiles, SWOT reports, case studies and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Ideas: Economics and Finance Research This link opens in a new window
This economics database provides access to bibliographic information, abstracts and some full text from an international selection of journals, working papers, institutional documents and software.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies provides access to full text of over 21 Canadian newspapers, including the Vancouver Sun and Globe & Mail. 2-day embargo on selected titles.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Real-life business case studies. To see teaching notes, faculty members need to create their own "Sage business cases" profile, and enter the verification code into the box. Please contact your liaison librarian for the code.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Stocks/Bonds

BNN Bloomberg
BNN Bloomberg is Canada's Business News Network reporting on finance and the markets.
NASDAQ
The first stock exchange to go public, and an early supporter of technology companies, especially those in Silicon Valley.
New York Stock Exchange
The world’s largest and most trusted equities exchange, the leading ETF exchange and the world’s most deterministic trading technology. Their data, technology and expertise help today’s leaders and tomorrow’s visionaries capitalize on opportunity in the public markets.
Toronto Stock Exchange
The Toronto Stock Exchange is a stock exchange located in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. It is the 8th largest exchange in the world and the third largest in North America based on market capitalization.
World Stock Exchanges
Lists stock exchanges around the world.

Financial News & Data

Financial News
Data

Reuters Business News & Finance
The world's largest news agency, providing investing news, world news, business news, technology news, headline news, small business news, news alerts, personal finance, stock market, and mutual funds information.
Financial Post
Online complement to the business section of Canada's National Post newspaper. Offers news and opinion on markets and investing, mortgages & real estate, people, technology, energy & mining, the economy, and retail & marketing.
Motley Fool
Offers commentary and advice for investors.
CNN Money
Offers commentary and advice for investors.
Morningstar
Well-respected provider of investment advice, much of which is available free on the web. Especially useful for financial performance and ratios, as well as key people.
Canadian Business Magazine
The online complement to the monthly Canadian Business magazine; offers news and commentary, as well as social media channels. Focuses on the latest developments in Canadian and global economics, marketing, managing, investing, government policy, innovation and retailing.

BC Stats This link opens in a new window
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia with a BC focus on demographics and socio-economic conditions.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics relating to Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
Datasets on key indicators and statistics on 228 countries of the world.
Permitted Uses for this Database

International Trade Administration
Create prosperity by strengthening the international competitiveness of U.S. industry, promoting trade and investment, and ensuring fair trade and compliance with trade laws and agreements. Includes Trade Data and Analysis
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development Statistics
UNCTAD compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources. Most time-series data cover extended periods of time, with some dating back to 1948, for almost all the economies of the world.

Selected Journals

Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic. The following journals focus on subjects related to investments and securities:

Or search for more Journals by subject:

Finance

Need help? Ask us!

Your Librarian