Human trafficking is defined by the United Nations (n.d.) as "the recruitment, transportation, transfer, harbouring or receipt of people through force, fraud or deception, with the aim of exploiting them for profit". Human Trafficking is not the same as human smuggling - some of the major differences include where people are moved (within or outside a country), what happens to people once they arrive at their destination (free to go or not). For more information on the differences, please visit the Public Safety Canada page on Human Trafficking. Sometimes deemed the modern form of slavery, human trafficking is an important issue that occurs in many countries including Canada and the United States. Governments and organizations are hosting various initiatives to increase awareness of the public (such as the Blue Campaign). Human trafficking can be divided into subtopics, including child, labour, and sex trafficking, to name a few. This guide is designed to provide a starting point for research on some general topics related to human trafficking.
Sources:
The SAGE Handbook of Human Trafficking and Modern Day Slavery provides a comprehensive, interdisciplinary and global look at the diverse issues surrounding human trafficking and slavery in the post-1945 environment. Covering everything from history and politics to economics, international law and geography, this Handbook is essential reading for academics and researchers, as well as for policy-makers and non-governmental organisations.
Combination of feminist and international perspectives. Includes exploitation of men as well as women. Provides Illustrative personal stories. Presents of qualitative and quantitative data. Includes studies of victimizers and well as victims. Both intervention and prevention issues are discussed.
Accessible and jargon-free and available in both print and electronic formats, the one-volume Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice will contain such entries as arms smuggling, art fraud, charity fraud, hacking and computer viruses, copyright infringement, counterfeiting, drug smuggling, extradition, human trafficking, ... and more.
The victimology–crime prevention nexus provides the foundation for a comprehensive and, hopefully, long-lasting approach to addressing the public’s risk of being victimized and aids individuals who are targeted by a criminal act. This is a welcome addition to any academic library.
This four-volume encyclopedia set offers coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history.
