LibGuides UFV: Practical Nursing: Indigenous Health Care

Find Articles, Books, E-books and more

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Also take a look at these databases. They are specifically focused on Indigenous content.

I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) has full text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on Indigenous peoples of Canada. Includes geographic locations of various communities and links to research content of that specific community.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Weaving Knowledge Systems Resource Materials This link opens in a new window
A collection giving voice to the Indigenous Peoples of Turtle Island. Contains materials on Canada's Dark History, Decolonization and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

When search for journal articles about Indigenous topics remember that you may have to use a variety of terms, some which will be outdated.

Firstly, search the name of the Nation you want to study or Métis or Inuit. Remember that Métis and Inuit are distinct groups that are not First Nations.

Search by First Nation
You can either browse or search specific names. From the Government of Canada.

If you want to search about all Indigenous people, search the term Indigenous but you may also need to use the words: Aboriginal, and/or Indian (which are both outdated/offensive terms but people still use them).

Selected Resources

Legacy: trauma, story, and Indigenous healing by Suzanne Methot
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019
Five hundred years of colonization have taken an incalculable toll on the Indigenous peoples of the Americas: substance use disorders and shockingly high rates of depression, diabetes, and other chronic health conditions brought on by genocide and colonial control. With passionate logic and chillingly clear prose, author and educator Suzanne Methot uses history, human development, and her own and others' stories to trace the roots of Indigenous cultural dislocation and community breakdown in an original and provocative examination of the long-term effects of colonization. But all is not lost. Methot also shows how we can come back from this with Indigenous ways of knowing lighting the way. [From Publisher]
Introduction to Aboriginal Health and Health Care in Canada by Vasiliki Douglas
Call Number: WA 300 D64 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Written by a leading researcher in First Nations and Inuit Health Adheres to the CASN/ANAC/CAN framework for teaching cultural competence and safety regarding Aboriginal health. [From Publisher]
White Benevolence: racism and colonial violence in the helping professions by Amanda Gebhard (Editor); Sheelah McLean (Editor); Verna St. Denis (Editor)
Call Number: HV 3176 W45 2022
Publication Date: 2022
When working with Indigenous people, the helping professions --education, social work, health care and justice -- reinforce the colonial lie that Indigenous people need saving. In White Benevolence, leading anti-racism scholars reveal the ways in which white settlers working in these institutions shape, defend and uphold institutional racism, even while professing to support Indigenous people. White supremacy shows up in the everyday behaviours, language and assumptions of white professionals who reproduce myths of Indigenous inferiority and deficit, making it clear that institutional racism encompasses not only high-level policies and laws but also the collective enactment by people within these institutions. In this uncompromising and essential collection, the authors argue that white settler social workers, educators, health-care practitioners and criminal justice workers have a responsibility to understand the colonial history of their professions and their complicity in ongoing violence, be it over-policing, school push-out, child apprehension or denial of health care. The answer isn't cultural awareness training. What's needed is radical anti-racism, solidarity and a relinquishing of the power of white supremacy. [From Publisher]

In Plain Sight The Full Report: Addressing Indigenous-specific Racism and Discrimination in B.C. Health Care
The Review Recommendations target immediate, principled and comprehensive efforts to eliminate all forms of prejudice and discrimination against Indigenous peoples in the B.C. health care system. This is essential if we aspire to an accessible and effective health care system. It is also needed to reach a state of substantive equality in health care and outcomes for Indigenous peoples that adequately address the legacy of colonialism in health care and enable the expression and enjoyment of Indigenous human rights and improved quality of life. [From Author]
Remembering Keegan
Keegan’s legacy has been to help shape the Cultural Safety and Humility transformation that is currently underway in the health system of BC. Addressing racism and discrimination in health care is critical to transforming the health system to be culturally safe for First Nations and Indigenous people. Transformation will require both behaviour change on the part of health providers, and system change, including structures, policies, practices and procedures. [From Author]

An Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada by Vasiliki Douglas
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020
This textbook for Canadian nursing and allied health students explores the major health issues of Indigenous populations and how to improve their overall health. [From Pulbisher]
Introduction to Determinants of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Peoples' Health in Canada by Margo Greenwood, Sarah de Leeuw, Roberta Stout, Roseann Larstone, and Julie Sutherland
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022
Introduction to Determinants of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Peoples' Health in Canada draws together the work and writings of primarily Indigenous authors, including academics, community leaders, and health care practitioners. This accessible and timely introduction is a vital undergraduate resource, and invaluable for introducing key concepts and ideas to students new to the field. [From Publisher]
Indigenous health equity and wellness by McKinley, Catherine E
Call Number: WA 300 I67 2022
Publication Date: 2022
This book focuses on promoting health equity and addressing health disparities among Indigenous peoples of the United States (U.S.) and associated Territories in the Pacific Islands and Caribbean. It provides an overview of the current state of health equity across social, physical, and mental health domains to provide a preliminary understanding of the state of Indigenous health equity. Part 1 of the book traces the promotive, protective, and risk factors related to Indigenous health equity. Part 2 reports promising pathways to achieving and transcending health equity through the description of interventions that address and promote wellness related to key outcomes. [From Publisher]
Medicine wheel for the planet : a journey toward personal and ecological healing by Grenz, Jennifer
Call Number: QH 541.15 R45 G74 2024
Publication Date: 2024
"A farm kid at heart, and a Nlaka'pamux woman of mixed ancestry, Dr. Jennifer Grenz always felt a deep connection to the land. However, after nearly two decades of working as a restoration ecologist in the Pacific Northwest, she became frustrated that despite the best efforts of her colleagues and numerous volunteers, they weren't making the meaningful change needed for plant, animal and human communities to adapt to a warming climate. Restoration ecology is grounded in an idea that we must return the natural world to an untouched, pristine state, placing humans in a godlike role—a notion at odds with Indigenous histories of purposeful, reciprocal interaction with the environment. This disconnect sent Dr. Grenz on a personal journey of joining her head (western science) and her heart (Indigenous worldview) to find a truer path toward ecological healing. In Medicine Wheel for the Planet, building on sacred stories, field observations and her own journey, Dr. Grenz invites readers to share in the teachings of the four directions of the medicine wheel: the North, which draws upon the knowledge and wisdom of elders; the East, where we let go of colonial narratives and see with fresh eyes; the South, where we apply new-old worldviews to envision a way forward; and the West, where a relational approach to land reconciliation is realized. Eloquent, inspiring and disruptive, Medicine Wheel for the Planet circles around an argument that we need more than a singular worldview to protect the planet and make the significant changes we are running out of time for. [From Publisher]
Neurodiversity from an Indigenous perspective: In Indigenous Disability Studies by Lexi Giizhigokwe Nahwegiizhic
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2024
Neurodiversity is viewed differently between the Western World and Indigenous cultures. The Western World uses a medical model that defines traits as normal and abnormal, labelling individuals based on perceived impairments. Indigenous cultures use a strength-based model focused on gifts and talents, labelling individuals based on areas they thrive. The latter results in a society where diversity flourishes. Many Indigenous cultures share teachings on several values that guide an individual to live a good life. These values – humility, honesty, respect, courage, wisdom, love, and truth – acknowledge that all living beings are important parts of Creation, and no one is above the rest. Before the migration of Europeans to North America, Indigenous Peoples thrived on the land because of their mutual respect for life. [From Publisher]
The Medicine Chest: a physician's journey towards reconciliation by Jarol Boan
Call Number: Just Received
Publication Date: 2024-03-26
Exploring the intersectionality of common diseases and social determinants of health gained from her experience of caring for Indigenous patients, Boan weaves historical data, comments on health policy, and jurisdictional gaps into the narrative while investigating how Canada's healthcare system is failing those most in need. [From Publisher]

Nursing Association Resources

Promoting Cultural Competence in Nursing
From the CNA. CNA believes that cultural competence promotes cultural safety. We further believe that addressing health inequities contributes to cultural safety. [From Author]
CNA Support for Shannen's Dream and Jordan's Principle
BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) will sign on to the campaigns for “Jordan’s Principle” and “Shannen’s Dream” via their respective websites and will make its support for these campaigns known to its jurisdictional and associate members. [From Author]
Indigenous Health from the CNA
Links to the various commitments the CNA are making towards Indigenous Health equity.
Nursing Declaration Against Anti-Indigenous Racism in Nursing and Health Care
From the CNA

Videos

Suzanne Methot is the author of the non-fiction book Legacy: Trauma, Story, and Indigenous Healing, co-author of the Grade 11 textbook Aboriginal Beliefs, Values, and Aspirations, and a contributor to Scholastic’s Take Action series of elementary classroom resource books. She is currently working on three books for children and young readers, and a novel set in northern Alberta. Suzanne is an educator and social historian who speaks on pedagogy, Indigenous worldviews and literatures, Indigenous approaches to health and wellness, trauma- and healing-informed practice, and decolonization. She also designs programs and facilitates change-making sessions for the education, health care, environmental, and museum sectors. Born in Vancouver and raised in Sagitawa (Peace River, Alberta), Suzanne is Asiniwachi Nehiyaw (Rocky Mountain Cree) of mixed Indigenous and European heritage. She lived in Tkaronto (Toronto) for 29 years, and now makes her home on the unceded territory of the Snuneymuxw Nation, near Nanaimo, BC.

Remembering Joyce Echaquan: Systemic Racism in Canada's Health Care
Calls for the Quebec government to recognize and address systemic racism within the province were revived by the death of Joyce Echaquan, an Atimatekw woman who filmed as nurses at a hospital in Joliette hurled racist slurs at her before she died. Joyce’s family has announced a lawsuit and a criminal complaint against the hospital. Meanwhile, Quebec premier Francois Legault has repeatedly denied systemic racism exists in the province. Since Joyce’s case became public, other Indigenous people have come forward with stories of their mistreatment in healthcare systems across Canada. [From Curio]
Essence of Healing: Journey of American Indian Nurses
Fourteen American Indian nurses from the Upper Great Plains share their experiences: from inspirations to enter the nursing profession, their time in nursing school, to the challenges and rewards on the job, and finally the legacy that they leave behind. [From Publisher]
Jordan River Anderson, The Messenger
The very timely Jordan River Anderson, The Messenger completes, on an optimistic note, the film cycle devoted to the rights of Indigenous children and peoples that began with The People of the Kattawapiskak River. [From Website]
Rethinking Determinants of Indigenous Peoples' Health in Canada
The NCCIH has developed Beyond the Social: Author Interviews, a series of eleven videos featuring interviews with some of the authors and editors of Determinants of Indigenous Peoples’ Health in Canada: Beyond the Social. The videos offer real-world insight and perspective that illuminate key concepts in the book, but they can also be used as stand-alone learning tools for anyone teaching or promoting Indigenous health and well-being. Follow the links below to view the other videos. [From Website]

Practical Nursing

Need help? Ask us!

Need more help? Book an appointment with me

Find Articles, Books, E-books and more

Selected Resources

Nursing Association Resources

Videos

Practical Nursing

Find Articles, Books, E-books and more

Selected Resources

Nursing Association Resou​rces

Videos

Nursing Association Resources