LibGuides UFV: Practical Nursing: Pharmacology

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

For more Library How To Videos

When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:

All filters options to limit seach results.

Available in Library Collection..............	you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library
Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals .....	if you need journal articles only
Print Books Only ..................................	limits mainly to our physical book, collection
Subject ...................................................	a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search
Geography...............................................	want to limit to Canada? use this
Content Provider ................................	gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database)

Remember to use this toolbar to easily:

Email yourself the article by clicking on Share

Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)

Use Share to Create a link to the article, whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates.

EDS tools with three dots, cite and share highlighed.

By default, Find It searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: children television violence will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find It searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order. You can change the ranking to date if you wish.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example: "British Columbia" or "global warming".
Include the apostrophe. For example, use "handmaid's tale" rather than "handmaids tale"
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: delinquen* finds delinquent, delinquents, delinquency
To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the UFV library, refine your search by selecting "All Books". You can also limit to "Print books Only" if you want something to hold!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)"
You can refine a search by limiting to Language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don't, use "Full Text Finder" to determine if UFV has the item in print or online.
To limit to Canadian content, use the Geography filter.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - User Guide

Custom made UFV tutorials:

For more Library How To Videos

Tutorials from the service provider:

For More EDS tutorials

Selected Resources

Clayton's Basic Pharmacology for Nurses by Michelle J. Willihnganz; Samuel L. Gurevitz; Bruce D. Clayton
Call Number: QV 4 W55 2022

Publication Date: 2022-03-11

Known for its practical application of the nursing process to drugs and disorders, this book explains how to make informed decisions about drug therapy, educate patients, and administer medications. Concise and easy to use, this text teaches the basics of medication administration and drug actions. Application of the nursing process includes an overview of general principles of nursing care for each disorder, along with specific nursing considerations for drug treatment. Drug monographs are provided for each major drug class, describing actions, uses, and therapeutic outcomes for each class. Medication Administration unit covers assessment, techniques, procedures, and documentation for the safe administration of percutaneous, enteral, and parenteral drugs. Medication safety is emphasized with Medication Safety Alerts and Clinical Pitfall boxes, as well as Do Not Confuse and High Alert icons. Clinical Goldmine boxes highlight tips and best practices for clinical procedures. Lifespan Considerations boxes draw attention to the implications of drug therapy for children, pregnant and breastfeeding women, and older adults. [From Publisher]
Principles of Pharmacology by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

Publication Date: 2019

This new resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of pharmacology using easy-to-understand language, to provide a solid background, and help readers develop a deeper understanding and appreciation of this important and evolving subject. [From Publisher]
Introducing Pharmacology by Roger McFadden
Call Number: E-book

Publication Date: 2019

Introducing Pharmacology provides an accessible and engaging introduction to the subject of pharmacology for nursing and healthcare students - and anyone needing to refresh their knowledge of this important area. [From Publisher]
Drugs and Pregnancy by Bertis B. Little
Call Number: WQ 240 L58 2022

Publication Date: 2022

This practical handbook provides detailed guidelines on prescribing drugs in all classes and for a wide variety of diseases and disorders during pregnancy, with numerous boxes and tables to assist understanding. [From Publisher]
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024
Call Number: E-book

Ensure safe and effective drug therapy with this easy-to-use handbook! Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024 provides you with current, detailed information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs. This handy, user-friendly guide includes updated uses, dosage forms, warnings, side effects and adverse reactions, IV drug administration, nursing considerations, and much more. [From Publisher]
Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy by Cherie R. Rebar (Editor); Nicole M. Heimgartner (Editor); Carolyn J. Gersch (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

Publication Date: 2022

Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance. [From Publisher]

Open Access Textbooks

Fundamentals of Nursing Pharmacology – 1st Canadian Edition
An OpenText book. This adapted open-access Canadian Nursing Pharmacology textbook was designed specifically for the entry-level undergraduate nursing student. It is also applicable to other health disciplines for use. This textbook explores pharmacological concepts by showing the connections between pathophysiology, pharmacological principles, and common medication classes. This textbook also provides learning tools to improve the students retention with quizzes, videos, concept maps, drug cards, and is organized using a concept-based teaching approach. [From Author]

Videos

Core Concepts of Pharmacology
Video: An overview of pharmacology for nurses is provided, including the nurse's responsibilities, an explanation of how drugs are named, types of drugs, classification of drugs, maintaining a medication administration record, and the timing of medications. [From Publisher]

Mosby's Nursing Video Skills - Advanced
Nursing skills are taught through videos, animations, checklists and review questions. Topics are: Safe Medication Administration, Nonparenteral Medication Administration, Injections, Administering and Managing Intravenous Fluid Therapy, Intravenous Medication Administration, Transfusion of Blood and Blood Producations, Vascular Access, Parenteral Nutrition.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Medication Safety and Error Reduction
The safe administration of medicine is reviewed, including the nursing process, five rights of medication administration, legal responsibilities, four common medication errors, and controlled substances. [From Publisher]

Practical Nursing

Need help? Ask us!

Need more help? Book an appointment with me

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Selected Resources

Open Access Textbooks

Videos