Skip to main content
UFV A - Z | myUFV | Academic Calendar | IT Help Desk | Library | MyClass | Directory

/library

Integrating Search Widgets into Course Web Sites: Intro

Provides instructions for inserting widgets for searching library research databases and catalogues into Blackboard or other course web sites.

What's Available?

Here are the various widgets that are currently available to UFV. Check back occassionally to see if any new services are introduced or changes implemented.

Research Databases

  • EbscoHost
  • ProQuest
  • Gale Reference Collection (Gale)
  • Oxford English Dictionary
  • Oxford Reference Collection (ORC)
  • Science Direct
  • JSTOR
  • Sage Journals Online (SJO)
  • Sage Knowledge also known as Sage Reference

Library Catalogues

  • UFV Library

 

Introduction

What is a Search Box Widget?

Many database vendors have created “cut and paste” code which can be added to a webpage, creating a search box targeting their databases. You may set up single or multiple targets from each vendor. For example, you may wish to have students search a combination of Academic Search Complete and PsycINFO.

ASC and PsycINFO
Limit Your Results

Why would I include this on a course page?

If your course involves some type of research assignment, you can recommend and direct students to one or more databases relevant to their topic. The search box widgets bring the databases to “where the students” are, rather than having to negotiate through the library’s pages.

Please note: These search boxes work well in Blackboard.

How can I set them up?


1. Choose the database(s)
2. Identify the vendor(s)
3. Customize your targets to create your own code
4. Include the library’s proxy server information
5. Cut and paste the code into your course page

Need More Help?

 

Contact diane.cruickshank@ufv.ca or ext. 4240

 

Need help? Ask us!

Abbotsford
(604) 854-4545
Chilliwack
(604) 795-2824
Chat with an AskAway Librarian

About your privacy: Your use of the AskAway chat reference service is voluntary. To maintain your privacy, do not provide personal information (e.g., name, email address) as data may be stored in the U.S. and subject to their laws.

© University of the Fraser Valley,
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8