Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Integrating Search Widgets into Course Web Sites: EBSCO

Provides instructions for inserting widgets for searching library research databases and catalogues into Blackboard or other course web sites.

You Can Search

Interdisciplinary

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Canadian Reference Centre
  • MAS Ultra - School Edition
  • MasterFILE Premier

Business

  • Business Source Complete
  • Regional Business News

Education

  • ERIC
  • Middle Search Plus
  • Primary Search
  • Professional Development Collection
  • Teacher Reference Center

Environmental Studies

  • GreenFILE

Health sciences

  • Alt HealthWatch
  • Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive
  • CINAHL Complete
  • Consumer Health Complete
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
  • Health Source: Academic Edition
  • Lexi-PALS Drug Guide
  • Medline with Full Text

History

  • America: History & Life
  • Historical Abstracts

Kinesiology

  • SPORTDiscus

Library & Information Technology

  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text

Literature

  • MLA International Bibliography

Media & Communications

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete

Psychology

  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO

Miscellaneous

  • Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
  • Military & Government Collection

How Do You Do It?

1. Start at the Search Box Builder page:

2. Check off desired databases from list

3. Leave default search as Boolean/Phrase

4. Under “Select Authentication Parameters”, enter our OpenAthens prefix:
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ufv.ca?url=

5. Tick the Secure HTTPS authentication box.

6. Choose from 3 different search box designs

7. Uncheck “Show Choose Databases”

8. Click on “Create Search Box”

9. Copy and paste the code into your course webpage; be sure to paste code in HTML (or code) view

Try for Yourself

Search the Health Databases:

Health Databases
Limit Your Results

Databases being searched are:Alt Healthwatch, Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition, CINAHL Complete, Health Source: Consumer Edition,Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Medline with Full Text, PsycINFO

 

Search the Business and Communications Databases:

BSC and CMMC
Limit Your Results

Databases being searched: Business Source Complete and Communications and Mass Media Complete

SEARCH EVERYTHING:

Research databases
Limit Your Results

 

All of our EBSCO databases that we currently subscribe to

Need More Help?

 

Contact diane.cruickshank@ufv.ca or ext. 4240

 

Need help? Ask us!

Chat loading...
The University of the Fraser Valley is situated on the unceded traditional territory of the Stó:lō peoples. The Stó:lō have an intrinsic relationship with what they refer to as S’olh Temexw (Our Sacred Land), therefore we express our gratitude and respect for the honour of living and working in this territory.

© , University of the Fraser Valley, 33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8