Integrating Search Widgets into Course Web Sites: Find It / EDS

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS), which we now call Find It, provides a single, unified search box for searching the UFV Library's information resources, including scholarly journal articles, books, e-books, internet documents, research reports, and much more.  Features of the service include:

• Single, simple entry point for searching many databases at once, including the UFV Library catalogue
• Pre-indexing of a vast quantity of metadata ensures immediate search results
• Detailed metadata (e.g., author-supplied abstracts,keywords, subjects)
• Indexing for thousands of journals from publishers such as Sage, Elsevier, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, and Cambridge
• Complete library catalogue loaded directly into EDS, with availability checks and daily updates
• Ability to limit searches by date, source type, subject, content provider, full text availability, scholarly designation and more
• Powerful, user-friendly interface based on the familiar EBSCOhost platform

Copy and paste the code below into a new "Content>Item" in BlackBoard.

Remember to hit the source <> icon.

<div style="overflow-x:auto;">
    <!-- EBSCOhost Custom Search Box Begins -->
    <script src="https://support.ebscohost.com/eit/scripts/ebscohostsearch.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <style type="text/css">
        label { display: inline; }
        .search-button {
          background-color: #e55200;
          border: 1px solid #e55200;
          color: #fff;
          font-size: 10pt;
          font-weight: bold;
          text-transform: uppercase;
        }
            
        .form-control { background-color: #fff; border: 1px solid #ccc; border-radius: 4px; display: inline; padding: 6px 12px; width: 85%; }
        .form-control:focus { border-color: #7cb232; outline: 0; }
        .form-control::-moz-placeholder { color: #999; opacity: 1; }
        .form-control:-ms-input-placeholder { color: #999; }
        .form-control::-webkit-input-placeholder { color: #999; }
        .form-control[disabled], .form-control[readonly], fieldset[disabled] .form-control { background-color: #eee; opacity: 1; }
        .form-control[disabled], fieldset[disabled] .form-control { cursor: not-allowed; }
    </style>
    
    <form id="ebscohostCustomSearchBox" action="" onsubmit="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this);" method="post" style="width:500px; overflow:auto;">
        <input id="ebscohostwindow" name="ebscohostwindow" type="hidden" value="0" />
        <input id="ebscohosturl" name="ebscohosturl" type="hidden" value="https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&amp;site=eds-live&amp;scope=site&amp;type=0&amp;custid=s5672269&amp;groupid=main&amp;profid=eds&amp;lang=en&amp;authtype=shib" />
        <input id="ebscohostsearchsrc" name="ebscohostsearchsrc" type="hidden" value="db" />
        <input id="ebscohostsearchmode" name="ebscohostsearchmode" type="hidden" value="+" />
        <input id="ebscohostkeywords" name="ebscohostkeywords" type="hidden" value="" />
        <input id="chkLibraryCollection" name="chkLibraryCollection" type="hidden" value="chkLibraryCollection">
        
        <div style="padding-top: 0.2em;">
            <input id="ebscohostsearchtext" class="form-control" type="text" name="ebscohostsearchtext" size="40" /> 
            <input class="search-button" type="submit" value="Find It" />
        </div>
                
        <div id="limiterblock">
            <div id="limitertitle" style="font-weight:bold;padding-top:15px;padding-bottom:5px;">Limit Your Results (optional)</div>
                <label><input type="checkbox" id="chkPeerReviewed" name="chkPeerReviewed"  /> Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)</label>
                ~ OR ~
                <label><input type="checkbox" id="chkCatalogOnly" name="chkCatalogOnly"  /> Catalogue Only</label>
        </div>
    </form>
    <!-- EBSCOhost Custom Search Box Ends -->
</div>

Find It (formerly known as the EBSCO EDS) is a great place to start your research.  It helps you quickly find relevant resources on a subject, without having to decide which database(s) to search.  The facets allow you to limit your search results in a variety of ways, including date range, source type, subject, and scholarly designation.  The library's catalogued resources are also integrated into the search results.

To find Canadian newspaper articles, use Canadian Newsstand and CPI-Q. These are not directly indexed in Find It.

To take advantage of the richest features of a database, including the subject thesaurus or specialized limiters, you may choose to search a specific subject relevant database.  For example, Business Source Complete, PsycINFO, and Medline have powerful features only available in their unique interfaces.