Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Integrating Search Widgets into Course Web Sites: ProQuest

Provides instructions for inserting widgets for searching library research databases and catalogues into Blackboard or other course web sites.

You Can Search...

Canadian Major Dailies - National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist and more.

CBCA Complete 
Canadian academic journals, trade journals and magazines covering all subject areas.

Early Modern Books (EEBO)

Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.

Ebook Central

A large selection of Proquest ebooks.

ERIC
Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Globe & Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844
This database provides the ease of searching the Proquest interface along with the option to view the complete page image content from the Globe & Mail newspaper (including advertisements, obituaries, etc.) from 1844 through 2007.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Criminal and juvenile justice, law enforcement, etc. - journal articles, reports, books, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.

PTSDpubs
Literature related to traumatic stress - journal articles

Sociological Abstracts
International literature of sociology - journal articles, books, dissertations, etc.

Sociology Collection

Sociology and social services content.

How Do You Do It?

  1. Connect to Proquest at:
  1. Click on "My Research" (top R.H. corner)
  2. Click on Create an Account. You do not need to create an account but you will then see a tab called Widgets.Create my Account and Widgets tab Proquest Database
  3. Click on "Widgets"
  4. Choose Widget Layout
    1. Styles and Themes - Select one of the 2 styles
    2. Select a colour theme
    3. Click on Headings and Tips.  Enter a custom heading and custom wording for a tip, if desired.
    4. Click on Size to change from the default size. Choose custom and set size to fit your platform.
  5. Choose Widget Setup
    1. Select the databases from the list presented
    2. Click on "Search Limits & Options".  Make any changes you desire.  I recommend you leave the search as "any field."
    3. IMPORTANT STEP.  Click on "Proxies & Accounts".  Select Authentication Method of "Shibboleth".  The details should read account ID 10969 and Group ID 104693
      Proquest Widget Setting for Shibboleth
  6. Click on Get Widget
  7. Copy and paste HTML into your website

 

Create a Widget to Search All Proquest Databases

Cut and paste this code into as an iframe into your course page:

<iframe src="https://www.proquest.com/widget/searchWidget?params=eNqVUs1u00AQXtqmaQMcUCXEBckSF5Cayj%2F5c3KApHGUSCEBElT1ZNb2%2BqcsXrOe%2FJQDT8Fj8BKIJ%2BDKO%2FAOzNpGQuLESOuZ%2FebHs9%2FM11%2Bklkvy4IZu6cUGEn4xpXn8kma1%2Bs9v3x%2B%2B%2B3FIDiakwQUNJtQHIWfkFGLJ8ljwYJ89f0GUPNqd4FdTFpBjT8iASSD1J34hCEEOt5wBeR2KFJp58on1NUPP9gOtAHYsiWLoa6mQHygfaMD20KQ8idK%2B5rMUmBxovuBC9jUZeU%2B7nXOtPM8GQA5yAHJvNFzNLt2VM3xzOQVySDcINlbT2Wi0nDtrhI53VQ%2F3x85k%2BHa%2Bdlfr67mDsbmHsUeL5cJRxXZAToeLa3cyc%2BZjTAs8nqTvMUyEIZBaxkUkgJztkiBi4KqbG7CQbjgWqUdSbLIkwDRDb3VsS7EBaSZyzJTqjQjEVR9UbJkMudj1tTgJApZWZFTsmP%2Bw4yHl%2F8nNURB4HpAvhq7EtM7R6LatdqnbXaXtrtmpdLvSJd7TC63rVtsuANPulYBhG8rote1W4bB6haNr9YpKXdMwyrttlwlmx%2FpjlBlmS0eyQ%2BSjFlKeMzUGibw2Fs6VezVbjJdXOAfq%2B2KTgiK0Zuh2x0aKvah4rVov1mImM9GHE%2FSxFMEqmdx%2BJJ%2FJYyAn5R42caB3TDXZm8pRw9lBjLGWgU00IMnGSZ5xegvkbrlA7nr2aoUV8r9%2BFpq2ZbD9bzzr6DA%3D"  width="350" height="155" scrolling="no" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Try for yourself

The University of the Fraser Valley is situated on the traditional territory of the Stó:lō peoples. The Stó:lō have an intrinsic relationship with what they refer to as S’olh Temexw (Our Sacred Land), therefore we express our gratitude and respect for the honour of living and working in this territory.

© , University of the Fraser Valley, 33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8