This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information for your research and assignments. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, organizations, and more that explore the many and varied aspects of adult education in Canada.
Within each theme, the editors have selected contributions that help to clarify the diversity and richness of Canadian adult education today. The contributors are all leading researchers and practitioners of adult education from coast to coast.
Activating the Heart is an exploration of storytelling as a tool for knowledge production and sharing to build new connections between people and their histories, environments, and cultural geographies. The collection pays particular attention to the significance of storytelling in Indigenous knowledge frameworks ...
This book ... recounts how pre-service teachers immersed in a crosscultural course in British Columbia began to practise Indigenous ways of knowing. Working alongside Indigenous wisdom keepers, they transformed earth fibres into a mural and, in the process, their own ideas about learning and teaching.
Knowledge for the People seeks to assist in the recovery and understanding of our adult education traditions. Whether it be the innovative laborer-teacher concept of Frontier College, or the Antigonish Movement in Nova Scotia, or the creative use of radio, film, and theatre for purposes of education and citizenship, or the adaption to the Canadian scene of such British imports as the Workers' Educational Association and the Mechanics' Institutes ...
This work is a celebration of Canadian women in adult education. It highlights the challenges faced by women as educators, leaders, and learners as well as the remarkable contributions of individual women along the road to knowledge, empowerment, and social change.
Inviting the reader to explore the consequences of a rapidly changing student population, Serving Diverse Students in Canadian Higher Education presents new thinking about how education in general, and student services in particular, should be designed and delivered.
A Guide for Teachers and Instructors is part of an open professional learning series developed for staff across post-secondary institutions in British Columbia. These guides are the result of the Indigenization Project, a collaboration between BCcampus and the Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training.
The UFV Library has a vast collection of print and electronic books and videos for students to use for their studies. Remember: when accessing resources off-campus, users will be prompted to enter their UFV credentials to gain access.
Example subject searches (click on the links to see the lists of related books and videos):
If you are new to searching, or need some reminders, try checking out the Library's resources on how to conduct research and specific links to streaming video collections (see below).
Databases are collections of different types of sources (usually digital) such as:
Here are a few popular databases when looking for information related to Adult Education, but you can find more options in our list of Education related Databases (see link below).
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
For more information on types of sources (including scholarly articles), please review our Evaluating Sources LibGuide (link below) and make sure to check your assignment instructions before your start your research to see what types of sources your professor has asked you to use for your project(s).
The following strategies can be useful to help you search for and choose an academic/scholarly research article
1. Analyze your topic statement for search terms
2. Connect different concepts with "AND"; connect similar (or synonymous) concepts with "OR" You also need to use quotation marks to search complete phrases.
e.g. "Adult education" AND British Columbia
e.g. "Adult education" OR "Adult learning"
3. Use limiters (options on the left or right side of the search results) to narrow your results list such as publication dates, peer-reviewed, and full text
4. Be sure to read the abstracts - they will often reveal enough "clues" to tell you if the article is relevant or not.
5. If you do not find articles that interest you, look at your results. See if there are new words or new search terms that you can use that will help you improve your search.
In some cases, your instructor may ask you to look in an adult education specific journal for an article. You can try a search in a related database, or you can search directly within a journal. Most of the links below will take you to the journal information page - under the "Full text access" choose the link (database name) you would like to use to search for articles within that journal.
Please note - sometimes journals have a 'search within' feature (so you can find topics within a journal), but sometimes they do not - so you will need to look around the page to see what options are available. For more information on searching for journals - check out our How to find a Journal by Title video (see link below).
Statistics are not considered scholarly sources, but they can be very useful when you want to include quantitative data in your research paper, report, or even presentation! See below for links to organizations offering data and reports of relevance to adult education, as well as links to specific reports that explore adult education in Canada and beyond.
Organizations with missions to support and develop adult education can be useful websites to review for trends in the profession, current topics, and professional development opportunities such as conferences.
Here are a few links to get you started looking at topics related to the education of Indigenous Peoples in Canada, as well as Indigenous ways of knowing and Indigenizing the Academy (specifically at UFV). Many more resources exist on these topics and we encourage you to do further research into these topics and their relations with adult education.
