This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information for your research and assignments. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, organizations and more that explore the many and varied aspects of adult education in community settings and social justice issues.
... The author delivers an understanding of how educators and students can learn effectively together to stimulate insight, combat power structures, assess and realize community needs, manage conflict, generate leadership and work in partnership to implement successful regeneration strategies.
This groundbreaking book critiques the boundaries of where adult education takes place through a candid examination of teaching, learning, and working practices in the social periphery. Lives in this context are diverse and made through complex practices that take place in the shadows of formal systems: on streetscapes and farms, in vehicles and homes, and through underground networks.
This book re-imagines the essence and role of adult education at both the individual and societal levels. It provides arguments for understanding adult education as a process of agency and empowerment, which has not only instrumental but intrinsic and transformative roles to play.
Through analysis of several historical case studies that exemplify ethical issues related to testing, this book explores and propounds speculative design principles and arguments in favour of radically democratic school reforms, which address how the future of testing might be shaped to ensure justice for all.
The UFV Library has a vast collection of print and electronic books and videos for students to use for their studies. Remember: when accessing resources off-campus, users will be prompted to enter their UFV credentials to gain access.
Example subject searches (click on the links to see the lists of related books and videos):
If you are new to searching, or need some reminders, try checking out the Library's resources on how to conduct research and specific links to streaming video collections (see below).
Databases are collections of different types of sources (usually digital) such as:
Here are a few popular databases when looking for information related to Adult Education, but you can find more options in our list of Education related Databases (see link below).
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
For more information on types of sources (including scholarly articles), please review our Evaluating Sources LibGuide (see link below) and make sure to check your assignment instructions before your start your research to see what types of sources your professor has asked you to use for your project(s).
The following strategies can be useful to help you search for and choose an academic/scholarly research article
1. Analyze your topic statement for search terms
2. Connect different concepts with "AND"; connect similar (or synonymous) concepts with "OR" You also need to use quotation marks to search complete phrases.
e.g. "Adult education" AND "Social justice"
e.g. "Adult education" OR "Adult learning"
3. Use limiters (options on the left or right side of the search results) to narrow your results list such as publication dates, peer-reviewed, and full text
4. Be sure to read the abstracts - they will often reveal enough "clues" to tell you if the article is relevant or not.
5. If you do not find articles that interest you, look at your results. See if there are new words or new search terms that you can use that will help you improve your search.
In some cases, your instructor may ask you to look in an adult education specific journal for an article. You can try a search in a related database, or you can search directly within a journal. Most of the links below will take you to the journal information page - under the "Full text access" choose the link (database name) you would like to use to search for articles within that journal.
Please note - sometimes journals have a 'search within' feature (so you can find topics within a journal), but sometimes they do not - so you will need to look around the page to see what options are available. For more information on searching for journals - check out our How to find a Journal by Title video (see link below).
