This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information for your research and assignments. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, and more that explore the many and varied aspects of learning in organizations.
Presents state-of-the-art research on organizational learning and knowledge. Updated edition features a new chapter on theory and analysis and an increased focus on service organizations. Describes and integrates the results of research on factors explaining organizational learning curves and the persistence and transfer of productivity gains acquired through experience.
Presents perspectives on supporting workplace learning from different countries around the world. The authors are outstanding scholars in the field of HRD and workplace learning. Chapters present new empirical research in an area that has gained much attention from HRD practitioners over the last decade but is relatively under-researched empirically.
Fundamentals of Workplace Learning is a comprehensive guide to how people learn in the workplace, and the issues and challenges involved. Examining the essential aspects of workplace learning and unravelling the various influences which affect the success of work-based learners, Knud Illeris presents a holistic model to explain how diverse individuals can be encouraged and invited to learn at work.
Training and Development in Organizations introduces students to the field of training and development, showcasing how the role and function of training within an organization supports the organization’s efforts at fulfilling its mission.
Inclusive Leadership explores cutting-edge theory, research, practice, and experience on the pivotal role of leadership in promoting inclusion in diverse teams, organizations, and societies. Chapters are authored by leading scholars and practitioners in the fields of leadership, diversity, and inclusion.
The chapters explore how applying insights from the field of constructivist cognitive development can be a key driver for supporting improvements in how we approach leadership development. For researchers and students of leadership, this is an essential addition to the leading theories of developmental approaches to leadership.
The UFV Library has a vast collection of print and electronic books and videos for students to use for their studies. Remember: when accessing resources off-campus, users will be prompted to enter their UFV credentials to gain access.
Example subject searches (click on the links to see the lists of related books and videos):
If you are new to searching, or need some reminders, try checking out the Library's resources on how to conduct research and specific links to streaming video collections (see below).
Databases are collections of different types of sources (usually digital) such as:
Here are a few popular databases when looking for information related to Adult Education, but you can find more options in our list of Education related Databases (see link below):
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
For more information on types of sources (including scholarly articles), please review our Evaluating Sources LibGuide and make sure to check your assignment instructions before your start your research to see what types of sources your professor has asked you to use for your project(s).
The following strategies can be useful to help you search for and choose an academic/scholarly research article
1. Analyze your topic statement for search terms
2. Connect different concepts with "AND"; connect similar (or synonymous) concepts with "OR" You also need to use quotation marks to search complete phrases.
e.g. "Adult Education" AND workplace
e.g. "Organizational learning" OR "Workplace learning"
3. Use limiters (options on the left or right side of the search results) to narrow your results list such as publication dates, peer-reviewed, and full text
4. Be sure to read the abstracts - they will often reveal enough "clues" to tell you if the article is relevant or not.
5. If you do not find articles that interest you, look at your results. See if there are new words or new search terms that you can use that will help you improve your search.
In some cases, your instructor may ask you to look in an adult education specific journal for an article. You can try a search in a related database, or you can search directly within a journal. Most of the links below will take you to the journal information page - under the "Full text access" choose the link (database name) you would like to use to search for articles within that journal.
Please note - sometimes journals have a 'search within' feature (so you can find topics within a journal), but sometimes they do not - so you will need to look around the page to see what options are available. For more information on searching for journals - check out our How to find a Journal by Title video (see link below).
Videos may be a good non-scholarly source to consult for presentations or projects. Videos can be found from a library database, YouTube, TED Talks, or even news sites. Remember to evaluate videos using the same CRAAP criteria as used to evaluate news and other sources to ensure you are referring to quality content.
