This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information for your research and assignments. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, videos and more that explore adult education and wellbeing.
This comprehensive introduction to the study and practice of health and adult education provides the missing link for those seeking to better integrate their efforts in these two areas. Bringing together a distinguished interdisciplinary group of scholars and practitioners, the book speaks clearly to how teaching and learning insights can be used to improve health in clinical, higher education, and community settings.
In today's schools, students and teachers feel unprecedented—even alarming—levels of stress. How can we create calmer classrooms in which students concentrate better and feel more positive about themselves and others? Author Thomas Armstrong offers a compelling answer in the form of mindfulness, a secular practice he defines as the intentional focus of one's attention on the present moment in a nonjudgmental way
How can teachers collect evidence about their teaching? This reflective question and many others await your discussion and analysis in this revised edition of TESOL Press's best-selling Reflective Teaching, which explores different approaches to how teachers can reflect on their practice in second language classrooms.
Mindfulness and Educating Citizens for Everyday Life invites readers to explore the role mindfulness can play in mediating how we enact social life in today's increasingly challenging and challenged world. The educators and researchers who have contributed to this book use mindfulness as a lens to address and untangle what is becoming a profoundly complicated way of being within the reality of global capitalism.
Mindfulness and Acceptance in Multicultural Competency presents a contextual approach to sociocultural diversity in both theory and practice. In this book, author Akihiko Masuda examines the cultural competency and cultural adaptation of three major therapeutic models based in mindfulness and acceptance: dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), mindfulness-based cognitive therapy, and acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT).
The UFV Library has a vast collection of print and electronic books and videos for students to use for their studies. Remember: when accessing resources off-campus, users will be prompted to enter their UFV credentials to gain access.
Example subject searches (click on the links to see the lists of related books and videos):
If you are new to searching, or need some reminders, try checking out the Library's resources on how to conduct research and specific links to streaming video collections (see below).
Databases are collections of different types of sources (usually digital) such as:
Here are a few popular databases when looking for information related to Adult Education, but you can find more options in our list of Education related Databases (see link below):
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
For more information on types of sources (including scholarly articles), please review our Evaluating Sources LibGuide (see link below) and make sure to check your assignment instructions before your start your research to see what types of sources your professor has asked you to use for your project(s).
The following strategies can be useful to help you search for and choose an academic/scholarly research article
1. Analyze your topic statement for search terms
2. Connect different concepts with "AND"; connect similar (or synonymous) concepts with "OR" You also need to use quotation marks to search complete phrases.
e.g. adult education AND mindfulness
e.g. Mindfulness OR Mediation
3. Use limiters (options on the left or right side of the search results) to narrow your results list such as publication dates, peer-reviewed, and full text
4. Be sure to read the abstracts - they will often reveal enough "clues" to tell you if the article is relevant or not.
5. If you do not find articles that interest you, look at your results. See if there are new words or new search terms that you can use that will help you improve your search.
Videos may be a good non-scholarly source to consult for presentations or projects. Videos can be found from a library database, YouTube, TED Talks, or even news sites. Remember to evaluate videos using the same CRAAP criteria as used to evaluate news and other sources to ensure you are referring to quality content.