LibGuides UFV: Streaming Video Collections: Docuseek

Collections

Docuseek Canadian Collection This link opens in a new window
A curated collection of streaming videos with a focus on social-issue and environmental films.
Permitted Uses for this Database

How to Instructions

Screenshot of Docuseek Homepage, red box around Register link. Background is of a golden retreiver service dog laying down on a bus, looking at the camera.

In order to activate special features, including creating playlists and sharing them with students, you need to register for an account. Registration link is at the top right-hand side of Docuseek’s web page. Please register for an account and sign in before compiling videos for your class.

To retrieve the permanent link for a video from these collections:

Screenshot of Docuseek page, red box aroung Embed link underneath video.

Create or sign in to your Docuseek account by clicking/tapping Register or Log in.
Search for videos using the search box at the top right of the web page.
From the list of results, click/tap a video's Title to view its details page.
Under the video in the list of tools, click/tap </> Embed to open up another dialogue window with the permanent link.

Screenshot of dialogue box, Permanent Link is surrounded by a red box.

Copy the permanent link, and using your preferred web editor to create a link on your web page, paste the given permalink text as the URL in question.

To retrieve the embed code for a video from these collections:

Create or sign in to your Docuseek account by clicking/tapping Register or Log in.
Search for videos using the search box at the top right of the web page.
From the list of results, click/tap a video's Title to view its details page.
Under the video in the list of tools, click/tap </> Embed to open up another dialogue window.

Screenshot of dialogue box, Embed Code is surrounded by a red box.

Copy the embed code and paste it into the HTML or source of your web page.

To add a film to your playlist:

Screenshot of Docuseek page, red box aroung Add to Playlist link underneath video.

Create or sign in to your Docuseek account by clicking/tapping Register or Log in.
Search for videos using the search box at the top right of the web page.
From the list of results, click/tap a video's Title to view its details page.
Under the video in the list of tools, click/tap Add to playlist.

Screenshot of Add to Playlist dialogue box, Name and Description, Title Comment fields are filled in, Keep Private option is selected, cursor is over Save button.

Create a playlist by assigning a name and description, or use the drop-down menu to select an existing playlist.

If you want to focus on one section of a video, you can create a clip that can be shared:

Screenshot of Docuseek page, red box aroung Make a Clip link underneath video.

Click/tap Make a clip from the list of tools below the video.

Screenshot of Clipmaker Tool Page, red arrows next to video slider bar, Start and Stop buttons, and Start / Stop time fields.

There are two ways to create a video clip:
- Watch the video and click/tap the Start clip button where you want the segment to start. Watch the video or use the slider to advance the video to where you want the segment to end, and click/tap Stop clip.
- Enter the Start / stop time codes manually.

Screenshot, red arrows pointing to Name and Description fields, and Save Clip Button.

Provide a name and description for your segment, and click/tap Save clip to add this to your segment collection.

Screenshot of Docuseek My Account page, red arrows to My Docuseek link, Clips Tab, and Red box around Add to Playlist link.

To add the newly created clip to a playlist, click/tap My Docuseek at the top right-hand corner of the web page.
Under My Account, select Clips.
Find the film segment you created, and click/tap Add to playlist from the list of tools under your video clip.

To share a playlist:
Screenshot of My Account page, Playlist is show, there are red arrows to My Docseek link, Playlists tab, Playlist title, and highlighted U R L for Playlist, with right click menu open and Copy option selected.

In the top pane of the Docuseek web page, click/tap My Docuseek.
Under My Account, select Playlists.
Find and click/tap the playlist in question.

You should now see a list of videos in your Playlist. The Permanent link for your playlist is at the bottom right of the page.
Copy this link and paste it into your Blackboard course.

Screenshot of Docuseek page, red box aroung Add to Playlist link underneath video.

Below the video and under the list of tools, select the Credits tab.
- The Citation tool and credits for the video should appear.
Under Citation, use the drop-down menu to select a citation style.
- Docuseek may not have the most current edition of your preferred citation style.

More Resources

Docuseek Help Wiki