Streaming Video Collections

To find a reusable link (permalink) to a video from these collections:

1. Search for videos using the search box at the top of the web page.
2. From the list of results, click on a video's Title to view the details page.
3. Choose Share from the list of tools below the video. Note that you can also access the Share function from the results list.
4. In the pop-up dialogue box, click on the Embed/Link tab, then copy the text in the Record URL box to the clipboard:
   
5. Using your favourite web editor to create a link on your web page, paste in the Permalink text as the URL.

See Streaming Videos and Blackboard Learn for instructions on how to link to a video in your course site.

To find the embed code for a video from these collections:

1. Search for videos using the search box at the top of the web page.
2. From the list of results, click on a video's Title to view the details page.
3. Choose Share from the list of tools below the video. Note that you can also access the Share function from the results list.
4. In the pop-up dialogue box, click on the Embed/Link tab, then copy the text in the Embed Code box to the clipboard:
   
5. Paste the embed code into the HTML or source of your web page.

See Streaming Videos and Blackboard Learn for instructions on how to embed a video in your course site.

To create a list of videos or video segments:

1. Search for videos using the search box at the top right of the web page.
2. From the list of results, click on a video's Title to enter full-screen mode.
3. Choose Add to from the menu below the video.
4. You may be prompted at this point to log in (or create) an account. If you have already created an account, they'll let you know.
5. Click on the Playlist tab.
6. Select what you want to add:
   • Full title: add the video in its entirety.
   • All segments: add all segments to the playlist, each as a separate item.
   • Selected segments: add one or more video segments to your playlist.
7. Choose the playlist you want to add to:
   • Add to existing playlist: this is the default option; open the pull-down menu to select a playlist you created previously.
   • Create new playlist: select the option, then type the name of the playlist into the box; it will be added to your list of playlists.
8. Click Save.

A message will appear toward the top of the dialogue box: "Item(s) added. Go to My Content." Click on the link to view your playlist(s). From here you can edit your playlist: change the title, add notes, change the order of videos/video segments, upload a video introducing the playlist, and preview the playlist.

To share a playlist:

1. Click on the Profile link at the top right of the web page.
   • If you have not yet logged in, the link will be "Your Profile"; you will be prompted to log in.
   • If you have logged in, the link will be "Hi, [your first name]"; you will be shown a menu of options.
2. Click on My Content. You will see a list of available playlists.
3. Choose Share from the menu of actions.
   
4. Copy the appropriate text/code:
   • To create a link to the playlist, copy the text in the Record URL box.
   • To embed the playlist, copy the code in the Embed Code box.

See Streaming Videos and Blackboard Learn for instructions on how to create a link or embed a video in your course site.

To find a formatted bibliographic citation for a video from these collections:

1. Search for videos using the search box at the top of the web page.
2. From the list of results, click on a video's Title to view the details page.
3. Choose Cite from the menu below the video.
4. Click on the tab corresponding to the bibliographic style you are using. MLA, Chicago Manual of Style, APA, and Harvard styles are available.
5. Copy the citation and paste it into your web page. Note that if there is a URL, you will need to edit it according to the rules of the particular bibliographic style. In APA, for example, the URL should be to the database home page, which in this case would be https://fod.infobase.com. The provided URLs will not be accessible from off campus. 

Note: always proofread citations before sharing them; these are machine-generated citations, and they are only as good as the data they draw upon.