The following provides a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs. See also the Visual Arts and Art History Guide for more resources.
History of Italian Renaissance Art: painting, sculpture, architecture
Renaissance Art: a very short introduction
Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture
The Baroque: architecture, sculpture, painting
Culture and Authority in the BaroqueExamples of subjects in the library catalogue:
Books are shelved by call number; books about Art are generally found in the N sections:
| In Chilliwack | In Abbotsford | |
| N 1 - N 9165 | N 1 - N 9165 | Visual Arts (General) |
| NA 1 - NA 9428 | NA 1 - NA 9428 | Architecture |
| NB 1 - NB 1952 | NB 1 - NB 1952 | Sculpture |
| NC 1 - NC 1940 | NC 1 - NC 1940 | Drawing, Design, Illustration. |
| ND 25 - ND 3416 | ND 25 - ND 3416 | Painting |
| NE 1 - NE 3002 | NE 1 - NE 3002 | Print Media |
| NK 1 - NK 9955 | NK 1 - NK 9955 | Decorative Arts |
| NX 1 - NX 820 | NX 1 - NX 820 | Arts in general |
When you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
Art-related subjects, including art history, architecture, graphic arts, industrial design, motion pictures, photography, and sculpture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed. For example this citation:
Hood, W. & Hope, C. (1977). Titian’s Vatican Altarpiece and the Pictures Underneath. Art Bulletin, 59, 534–52.
Copy the journal title, Art Bulletin, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Academic Search Complete or JSTOR. Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1975 or 1919 so we are okay. Click on the Academic Search Complete link. To the right you will see "Search Within this Publication." Click there and enter the article title "Titian’s Vatican Altarpiece and the Pictures Underneath" into the search box. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
