Selected books from our library collection:
Culture and Identity in Early Modern Europe (1500-1800)
Scientific Revolution - A Very Short Introduction
Reformation Europe, 1517-1559
The Culture of Power and the Power of Culture: old regime Europe, 1660-1789
Science, Reading, and Renaissance Literature: the art of making knowledge, 1580-1670When you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed in your readings. For example this citation:
Bever, E. (2002). Witchcraft, female aggression, and power in the early modern community. Journal of Social History, 35(4), 955-988. doi:10.1353/jsh.2002.0042
Copy the journal title, Journal of Social History, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, CKRN Oxford Journals Online, among others . Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1996 so we are okay. Click on the CKRN Oxford Journals Online link and enter part of the article title "Witchcraft, female aggression" into the search box. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
