LibGuides UFV: Early Modern Studies: Websites

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Sites of Interest

British Library: Treasures in Full
Magna Carta, Renaissand Festival Books, Shakespeare and more
Shakespeare's Restless World: Podcast
Objects that influenced Shakespeare and his world are discussed.
Google Cultural Institute
The Ambassadors, Hans Holbein the Younger, 1533. This is just a starting point. Explore topics like Baroque, The Medici, artists like Anthony van Dyck.

Gateways & Portals

E-book databases

Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A digital facsimile edition of virtually every book published in English between 1473 - 1700.

Permitted Uses for this Database
InteLex Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Full text books or collections by seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences, including: Aquinas, Aristotle, Austen, Behn, Betham, Bronte, Calvin, Darwin, Dewey, Dickens, etc., in both original languages and English translation; including their published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
Coverage of trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition topics; content includes original manuscripts, other rare printed materials and contextual essays. The focus is on the African Coast, the Middle Passage, slavery and agriculture, the abolition movement, the Underground Railway and slavery today.
Coverage: 1490 to 2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Journals I & II This link opens in a new window
Full text access to rare journals and newspapers printed between 1685 and 1815.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Adam Matthew Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes historical primary source material: manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, drawings, paintings, letters, diaries, notebooks, and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Copyright free versions of a large variety of publications.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Facsimile editions of over 136,000 books, plays, essays, broadsides and more published in the 18th century.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Meet with a Librarian

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway