Women Who Ruled: queens, goddesses, Amazons in Renaissance and Baroque art
Witches and Neighbours: the social and cultural context of European witchcraft
The Invention of the Renaissance Woman: the challenge of female independence in the literature and thought of Italy and England
Ventriloquized Voices: feminist theory and English Renaissance texts
To the Glory of Her Sex: women's roles in the composition of medieval texts
The Rise of Female Kings in Europe, 1300-1800Examples of subjects in the library catalogue:
When you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed in your readings. For example this citation:
Walker, C. (2009). "Going against some forcible wind': Writing and reform in Medieval and Early Modern convents. Journal Of Women's History, 21(1), 135-144. doi:10.1353/jowh.0.0061
Copy the journal title, Journal Of Women's History, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Project Muse, among others . Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1989 so we are okay. Click on the Project Muse link and enter part of the article title "Going against some forcible wind' (use the quotation marks) into the search box to the right. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
