The Tudor-Stuart period describes the period from the rise of the House of Tudor to the English throne in 1485 and spans to the fall of the House of Stuart in 1649. The Tudor period includes the reigns of famous monarchs such as King Henry VIII and Queen Elizabeth I. Upon her death in 1603, Queen Elizabeth I, the “Virgin Queen”, left no heirs. Next in the line of ascension was the son of Mary Stuart, the Queen of Scotland who had been executed by Queen Elizabeth in 1567. Thus began the Stuart period King James I, in 1603, and ended with the execution of his son, Charles I, in 1649 and which ultimately lead to the Interregnum.
Though not exhaustive, the following resources provide a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs.
Katherine Parr: Complete works and correspondence
Tudor Rebellions
Power and Protest in England, 1525-1640
The Stuart Age: England, 1603-1714Examples of subjects in the library catalogue:
When you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed. For example this citation:
Cowan, B. (2004). Mr. Spectator and the Coffeehouse Public Sphere. Eighteenth-Century Studies, 37(3), 345-366. doi:10.1353/ecs.2004.0021
Copy the journal title, Eighteenth-Century Studies, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Project Muse. Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1995 so we are okay. Click on the Project Muse link. Select the tab that says "Search Journal:" and enter the article title "Mr. Spectator and the Coffeehouse Public Sphere" into the search box. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
