The following provides a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs. See also the Philosophy & Ethics Guide for more resources.
Selected books from our library collection:
The Early Modern Subject: self-consciousness and personal identity from Descartes to Hume
The minds of the Moderns: rationalism, empiricism and philosophy of mind
Early Modern Philosophy: mind, matter, and metaphysics
The Cambridge Companion to Early Modern Philosophy
Understanding EmpiricismWhen you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed in your readings. For example this citation:
Kasser, J. (2011). How settled are settled beliefs in ''The Fixation of Belief''?. Transactions Of The Charles S. Peirce Society, 47(2), 226-247. doi:10.2979/trancharpeirsoc.47.2.226
Copy the journal title, Transactions Of The Charles S. Peirce Society, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Academic Search Premier, among others . Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1965 so we are okay. Click on the Academic Search Premier link. To the right there is "search within this publication". Click there and enter part of the article title ''The Fixation of Belief'' into the search box to the right. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
