The Aztecs
The Last Days of the Incas
New Perspectives on Human Sacrifice and Ritual Body Treatments in Ancient Maya Society
Their Way of Writing: scripts, signs, and pictographies in Pre-Columbian AmericaWhen you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals.
Coverage: 1954 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed. For example this citation:
Christie, J. (2012). A new look at Q'enqo as a model of Inka visual representation, reproduction, and spatial structure. Ethnohistory, 59(3), 597-630. doi:10.1215/00141801-1587478
Copy the journal title, Ethnohistory, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Academic Search Complete. Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1954 so we are okay. Click on the Academic Search Complete link. To the right you will see a "search within this publication" link. Click on it and enter the article title "A new look at Q'enqo" into the search box. You should then be able to locate the actual article.