The Reformation, also known as the Protestant Reformation, was the 16th-century political and religious shift throughout Europe from the dominant Roman Catholic Church and affiliated papal authority to Protestantism. The movement is often attributed to the writings of Martin Luther (1483-1546) which began to circulate widely in 1517. Though not exhaustive, the following resources provide a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs.
Protestantism
Rethinking Catholicism in Reformation England
Tolerance and Intolerance in the European ReformationExamples of subjects in the library catalogue:
When you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed. For example this citation:
Copy the journal title, Church History & Religious Culture, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Academic Search Permier. Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 2006 so we are okay. Click on the Academic Search Premier link. To the right you will see "search within this publication". Click on it and enter the article title "The reception of Calvin" into the search box. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
