The Origins of French Absolutism, 1598-1661
A Social and Cultural History of Early Modern France
Aristocratic Experience and the Origins of Modern Culture
Old Regime France, 1648-1788Examples of subjects in the library catalogue:
When you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed. For example this citation:
Sahlins, P. (2012). The royal menageries of Louis XIV and the civilizing process revisited. French Historical Studies, 35(2), 237-267.
Copy the journal title, French Historical Studies, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Historical Abstracts with Full Text. Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1958 so we are okay. Click on the Historical Abstracts with Full Text link. to the right you will see "search within this publication" link. Click on it and in the search box put the article title "royal menageries of Louis XIV". You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
