The Renaissance describes the period spanning approximately the 15th and 16th-centuries and denotes the shift from the Middle Ages to the Early Modern period. The Renaissance in credited for an influx of art, literature, and intellectualism which produced great figures such as Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo. Though not exhaustive, the following resources provide a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs.
Selected books from our library collection:
Science, Reading, and Renaissance Literature: the art of making knowledge, 1580-1670
A New Companion to English Renaissance Literature and Culture
A Companion to the Global Renaissance: English literature and culture in the era of expansion
Renaissance Tropologies: the cultural imagination of early modern England
The Renaissance: a sourcebookWhen you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed in your readings. For example this citation:
Palmer, P. (2006). Missing bodies, absent bards: Spenser, Shakespeare and a crisis in criticism. English Literary Renaissance, 36(3), 376-395. doi:10.1111/j.1475-6757.2006.00087.x
Copy the journal title, English Literary Renaissance, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Wiley Online Library, among others. Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1997 so we are okay. Click on the Wiley Online Library link and enter part of the article title "Missing bodies absent bards" into the search box to the right. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
