Selected books from our library collection:
A Revolution of the Mind: Radical Enlightenment and the intellectual origins of modern democracy
Political Ideas in the Romantic Age: their rise and influence on modern thought
James Madison and the Struggle for the Bill of Rights
History of Western Political Thought
A Turn to Empire: the rise of imperial liberalism in Britain and FranceWhen you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals.
Coverage: 1954 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed in your readings. For example this citation:
Fine, R. (2001). The Marx-Hegel relationship: revisionist interpretations. Capital & Class, 25(75), 71-81.
Copy the journal title, Capital & Class, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Sage A-Z, among others . Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1977 so we are okay. Click on the Sage A-Z link and enter part of the article title "The Marx-Hegel relationship" into the search box to the right. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
