The following provides a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs. See also the Theatre & Musical Theatre Guide for more resources.
Selected books from our library collection:
English Historical Drama, 1500-1660: forms outside the canon
Theatrical Convention and Audience Response in Early Modern Drama
Costuming the Shakespearean Stage: visual codes of representation in early modern theatre and culture
The Routledge Companion to Directors' ShakespeareWhen you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed in your readings. For example this citation:
Crystal, D. (2013). Early interest in Shakespearean: Original pronunciation. Language & History, 56(1), 5-17. doi:10.1179/1759753613Z.00000000013
Copy the journal title, Language & History, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, HIstorical Abstracts with Full Text. Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 2012 so we are okay. Click on the Historical Abstracts with Full Text link. Look for the "search within this publication" link to the right. Click on it and enter the article title "Early interest in Shakespearean" into the search box. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
